The North Pennines


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
May 29th 2005
Published: July 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Greenson at Hamsterley ForestGreenson at Hamsterley ForestGreenson at Hamsterley Forest

There were three of these sculptures in Hamsterley forest Greenson, Greenman and Greendad. I liked greenson the best he was very cute!
The North Pennines
Well well well it's been a while and I must say I was glad to get out and about again. Even though it was for educational purposes. This time I was off to Northern England to one of the biggest Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty in the UK. An AONB is an area recognised for its beauty with an aim to conserve and enhance it naturally, economically and socially. I had an excellent time doing this as part of my degree course working with the AONB partnership staff unit. They are the people who co-ordinate all the efforts to carry out the work done in the area in association with the AONB designation. The area is also a UNESCO geopark so has amazing geological features. I had alot of fun and gotta go touring mines, touring nature reserves, walked some of the Pennine Way, hiked to all the great waterfalls in the area, wildlife spotting, ancient wood remain hunting, worked at a lead mining museum and met lots of interesting people at all the great hostels in the area. Anyway I won't bore you with the details but here are some of my favourite pictures from the area
Hamsterley Forest and meHamsterley Forest and meHamsterley Forest and me

Yet another piece of my handywork, me on an over turned tree at Hamsterley forest. I counted the rings and this tree was 40 years old at least!
- I must apologise that they're all scenery almost but I was on my own and often enough there was nothing to lean my camera on to take a shot with me in it. Anyways its beautiful; so appreciate the pics. Lovin you all, Julie



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Cauldron SnoutCauldron Snout
Cauldron Snout

Cool waterfall that gradually drops about 40m through the Whin Sill
Cauldron Snout againCauldron Snout again
Cauldron Snout again

This on was taken at the bottom and shows how powerful it was not to mention noisy
Gibsons CaveGibsons Cave
Gibsons Cave

A cool little waterfall flowing over a cave in Bowlees Nature reserve
High ForceHigh Force
High Force

Looking down over high force - Englands highest waterfall
Low ForceLow Force
Low Force

High Force's sibling slightly smaller but as impressive - almost!
Me at Hadrians wallMe at Hadrians wall
Me at Hadrians wall

As I spent alot of the time independantely exploring heres one of the few shots with me in it - I took it myself too!
Hadrians wallHadrians wall
Hadrians wall

Looking to the West along a section of Hadrians wall - my car was parked on top of the furthest away hill in the background
Source of the South TyneSource of the South Tyne
Source of the South Tyne

This sculpture marks the source of the South Tyne high up on Alston Moor in the West of the North Pennines.
Langdon Beck YHLangdon Beck YH
Langdon Beck YH

I stayed at Langdon Beck Youth Hostel which is one of the most environmentally friendly in the UK. It has its own turbine seen here in the spectacular sunset.
Probably the best gate in the worldProbably the best gate in the world
Probably the best gate in the world

This gate cracked me up. If you can't see the small sign it says - please close the gate!
Danger Danger!!Danger Danger!!
Danger Danger!!

Walking over Moorhouse nature reserve towards Cauldron Snout there were several of these abandoned mineshafts. Infact the whole North Pennines are covered with remnants of the mining industry.
Entering Tyne BottomEntering Tyne Bottom
Entering Tyne Bottom

Here's the very low and wet entrance to Tyne Bottom mine. The water was no less than 30cm deep and wet wellies were unavoidable. At one point lead would have been mined here along with Flourospar and other minerals.
Iron formation in Tyne Bottom mineIron formation in Tyne Bottom mine
Iron formation in Tyne Bottom mine

I was lucky enogh to do some mine exploring and saw loads of formations like this - this was the most amazing though.
Stalagmites in Tyne BottomStalagmites in Tyne Bottom
Stalagmites in Tyne Bottom

Here are some blue and white stalagmites beginning to form on the roof of the mine where various chemicals and elements are deposited out of the groundwater seeping through


Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb