My eventful summer


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Stirlingshire » Stirling
October 21st 2005
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and SheilaMe and SheilaMe and Sheila

Here's me with Sheila - she was a close friend o a dude we were camping with at T
A big hello to everyone all over the world wherever you may be.
My updating has been a bit on the slow side but as expected I had one hell of a summer. Many of you will already know the stories some of you may not but here is my summer in short.
Road Trips
Spent alot of my time getting to know the hills and lochs in central scotland. This included a few trips up Ben Ledi, Dumyat, and also a late night hike in the Gargunnock hills when me and my mate went off roading and got lost in the pitch black on a marsh/moor/bog. It was pretty funny and we half expected to have to spend the night on the hill. Luckily found the path - who knows how we lost it in the first place and then made it safely back to the Navy car.
The Navy car was my saviour over the summer it took me a few thousand miles in search of moorland, random animals, and general roadtrips. Took me to the West coast for my first experience of Glen Coe unfortunately it was raining so didn't get to experience the full
Preparing for the campsitePreparing for the campsitePreparing for the campsite

Notice the wheelbarrow full o booze-HA! now thats what I call transport
thrill but it was damn good anyway.
Took many a trip to Loch Lomond for a wee swim decided that swimming in lochs is much better than swimming in a pool. Also did a bit of kayaking in Loch Ard.

Fun stuff
Finally got to go white water rafting, had been waiting three years to go and finally went with my big sister. It was pretty fun and we got reasonably wet but next time I'm thinkin I mite attack a higher graded river as I never got the feeling I was in any danger. Also went river bugging with my mate Linda - river bugging is when they put you in an inflatable arm chair and supposidely teach you how to ride the rapids. I spent most of the time underneath the bug and at one point fell out mid-rapid and went down the rest on my ass - huge bruises! It was very exciting and if any of you remember the tubing when we went through the little gully and got sucked under the water it was kinda like that. Was supposed to be going sphereing that day too but it was too windy and
T in the park crewT in the park crewT in the park crew

Here's Clare Inkster Lynne and Linda at T in The park watchin Razorlight
we woulda got blown into a LOCH - not advisable when your strapped inside a 12ft rubber ball. Anyways going back after xmas for that so watch this space.

T in The Park
For three days in July I went along to T in the Park. Very huge music festival 35000 per day 25000 camping. Lots of alcohol, dancing to the rave bus, wandering through the crowds to get to the front. Saw bands like Travis - who were ace, greenday, foo fighters, kaiser chiefs, jimmy eat world, KT Tunstall, Razorlight, Athlete and many more. Was there with my mate Linda and my sistert Lynne and all their mates. It was good fun being back with the brochers for a good carry on. Lots of late night messing about and general misbehaving. Best weekend of the summer apart from the fact it took me a full week to recover and I was quite unwell for most of it. Well worth it though and will definately be hitting that one up again next year.

So thats the best bits of my summer in short, I've left out alot of the other stuff I did as there's always another time. It was an ace few months and I saw alot of Scotland I hadn't already. Its such a great wee country and i'm proud that I'm lucky enough to live here. Hope you enjoy the photos Keep in touch,
Love you all,
Julie XXX


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The Stage last ThingThe Stage last Thing
The Stage last Thing

Sure this was taken during Greenday!
Marie gettin tippedMarie gettin tipped
Marie gettin tipped

Pullin the boat up the rocks seemed like a logical thing to do at the time
Me Jumping inMe Jumping in
Me Jumping in

Think I was aiming for some fishes
Me and MarieMe and Marie
Me and Marie

Here's my mate Marie (who used to be a very girly girl - I was tring to tip her in but she jumped all on her own - well done marie!
Helen climbing treesHelen climbing trees
Helen climbing trees

We went on a tree climbing expedition, got stuck a few times and came home with alot o scrathes - good times
A view over Loch LomondA view over Loch Lomond
A view over Loch Lomond

We went to follow in the footsteps of Rob Roy and found a pretty sweet view over the loch
Me and HelenMe and Helen
Me and Helen

Here's my flatemate and I having a wee swim in Loch Lomond - man there were shit load o midges that day!
River BugginRiver Buggin
River Buggin

Here's me and my mate Linda in our Bugs before they actually let us in the water - note i'm closest to the camera think i thought i was jumpin out a plane again!
I fell outI fell out
I fell out

I spent a good bit o time in the water - all good
Takin the big oneTakin the big one
Takin the big one

Would I stay in for the first time or land on my ass again - you decide
I survivedI survived
I survived

WoI was over the moon I actually stayed in the thing after the waterfall
White Water RaftingWhite Water Rafting
White Water Rafting

Me and my sister Lynne went raftin down the Tay river it was fun just cause we were in wetsuits
White Water Rafting 2White Water Rafting 2
White Water Rafting 2

Here's us in the raft - somewhere!
Flat PartyFlat Party
Flat Party

Here's all my stir buddies at one of our legendary flat parties - not the flat warming cause someone nicked my camera - if anyones seen it give me a shout!
My dog TravisMy dog Travis
My dog Travis

Here's my mutt Travis at Aberdour Beach - yes we do actually get some sun in the summer!
My dog BenMy dog Ben
My dog Ben

Here's my other dog ben at Aberdour beach


Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb