rain held until...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Worcestershire
June 26th 2016
Published: June 26th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, June 26

The Three Ways House started our day with a buffet breakfast. They were late setting up and then they kept getting our orders wrong. They brought Ross a bowl of porridge that could have fed 5. We'd also had poor service at dinner the previous evening. Beds were small and Ian and Lynn's toilet didn't work.

However I was happy just to be able to walk to breakfast although I did it in my socks because I couldn't face getting my shoes on just yet. I actually put my hiking boots in the garbage. While Ross and Ian did the car transfer bit I carefully put all the first aid stuff I had on my feet and took 2 Advil just to start the day. Legs moved and we were soon climbing our first hill of the day. Morning was good. We have a rating system now as we walk. Mud 1 means slippery area, Mud4 means take it slow and watch wher you put your feet, Mud 6 means watch out your shoes may get sucked in, Mud 8 means pass me your poles and whack the side bushes away until you can find ground. We got to a 9 where Lynn did a straddle walk with a leg on each side and borrowing Ross' pole. Very entertaining to watch. I guess Mud 10 would be the full on mud bath.

We hit our planned lunch pub stop early in the route and enjoyed beef and Yorkshire pudding. All afternoon we went up and down and never around the hills. I did a nice face plant after stepping in a hole while going through a field - no injuries just a small bruise, hurt pride and of course full weight went on the camera. It's still working though. (Some of you know my history with cameras). Last hour of our walk the drizzle started and we had a massive downhill through about 8 fields. My toes were quietly sobbing thanks to the Advil (otherwise more screaming). Entered the town but our B&B was at the opposite end of town and this seemed to have a super long High Street. After a shower, feet up and tea we drove to dinner since the restaurant was about 5 blocks away and our feet said no way to any more walking. Broadway has some fantastic English style houses. Looks like good shopping too except that it's Sunday so most are closed.



steps: 27,171

floors (I was saying stairs but iit means how many floors up: 98

sticky toffee didn't happen today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



27th June 2016

My feet hurt
Hi Diane, I am loving your daily missives but just listening to you made my feet hurt too. Thank heavens for blister bandages!

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb