A FEW FINAL WORDS ABOUT ENGLAND


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire
September 9th 2012
Published: September 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Afternoon Tea at Betty'sAfternoon Tea at Betty'sAfternoon Tea at Betty's

Lovely. Kevin had a latte and a scone.
Upon returning from our trip up north, I had to buy some of my favorite tea from South Africa from Betty’s in Harrogate. And what is a trip to Betty’s without afternoon tea? I had my favorite, which they prepared especially for me as it was now off the menu, and a beautiful little choux pastry cut in half and filled with fresh berries and cream. I think at this point the weight started going back on.

We took Kevin’s mother on an outing, and stopped in a market town, Helmsley, for lunch. I got excited and ordered the Steak Pie, chips and beans, only to realize after ordering that beans in England means “Heinz canned”. I have never seen so many carbs sitting on one plate in my life, I am sure….But the chips with salt and vinegar were great!

The night before leaving Leeds, Ann and Dave, their daughter Kim and her boyfriend and we went out to an Indian restaurant near where they live, called Gazis. This was the best Indian meal I had in England this trip. I had lamb sag, a personal favorite. But we ordered a “Family Naan”, and we are going to
Pie, chips and beansPie, chips and beansPie, chips and beans

Can you say "carb overload"?
suggest that our favorite Indian restaurant at home start making these. I think we could have gotten by with two, personally.

The next day we were off to London and the train to Paris. But having Ann and Dave’s house as a base was terrific, and the hospitality was really appreciated…Thanks guys!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Family NaanFamily Naan
Family Naan

18" long. And it was really good. This wasn't big enough for 6 people


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb