Excursion to the North


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire
October 3rd 2005
Published: October 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Fiona and I vacated the flat on Friday. We then met up with James in Sheffield to get our brief introduction to the North of England. I visited York a few years ago, staying with a host family for Christmas in 2001, but I have yet to have a proper visit to other cities in Yorkshire. We took a day trip to Bradford and saw the university sites from where James attended undegrad. We walked around the city and took in the sites which included old textile mills, mosques, and delectable Asian sweet shops.

As you would expect in Bradford, we stopped for curry. We also viewed a film at the Imax Cinema on ancient Egypt.

We popped over to Leeds, a city which boasts a massive university and a robust banking industry.

On Sunday we attended the service at Sheffield Cathedral and then enjoyed some tasty pints of Belgian beer at the Devonshire Cat Pub. That is my kind of place.

James helped Fiona with luggage as far as Doncaster, while I made my way down South on the typically crowded and over-booked Virgin train service. I kept myself sane by reading The Economist.

James--we had a great visit. Thank you for showing us around. It will be my turn to show you my part of the world when you visit us in the USA.

For my final week in Oxford I am staying in Jericho with some of the students.



Advertisement



18th October 2005

Sweet love, Great Trip!
What a wonderful trip! You will never forget. It is also a good idea to set up a travel blog and share your great experience with us. I have sent you a recommended itinerary for your Chinese trip. You are so welcome to China and I am looking forward to seeing you soon. Enjoy your great trip and beutiful life!

Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb