Life back in England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire
February 5th 2007
Published: February 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So now I’m back in England. I’m planning to stay here for hopefully just a couple of months, to sell things left over from my house and get a new passport and visa sorted out. I really, really miss the camp. For a couple of days when I got home I just slept. The first morning was weird. I woke up at 5.30am ready to roll out of bed and stumble downstairs to take Surichok to the river…and it took me a good few minutes to realise where I was. I’m missing Surichok and the routine of the camp, being outdoors all day and the simple life they have there, but the contentment and happiness they have, and that I had whilst I was there. I made some special friends at the camp, and I think about them and miss them every day. Even though I was only there for a month it seemed longer, and having been in Asia and Thailand for 5 months I'm completely into their way of thinking and lifestyle. I read through my blog entries and I have in no way projected the amazing time I had with the elephants and mahouts. So my plans have changed slightly. I’m still going back to Thailand, and still intend to get a teaching job in Bangkok, but I’m going to take a detour to the elephant camp first. I’m already making lists of things I want to take back with me and haven’t actually unpacked properly yet. Can’t bring myself to do it! And it is soooo cold here. Yes most of all I miss the sun! My blog will return when I return to Thailand…..and in the meantime here are my 3 favourite pictures from the camp. I did consider putting one of Liam here as well.......



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb