Yea...the weather here is...TORTURE


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
January 20th 2007
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday's LOW: Walking and to and from that horrible seminar.
Yesterday's HIGH: All of us cracking up listening to Melissa and her mom on the phone. The conversation involved a mouth, a "bottom", and a sore...it was interesting.
Today's LOW: Spending a lot of money on the first dinner I cooked for the flat.
Today's HIGH: Having everyone LOOOOOVE the meal...and then watching Peep Show. (Its not what it sounds like, but its hilarious).
So yesterday I had my last class of the week. My schedule is really uneven with a bunch of classes on Monday and Wednesday, one on Thursday, and none on Tuesday or Friday. So that one Psyc seminar was the only thing holding me back from a long weekend. I decided to wear a skirt and heals knowing that I wouldnt have to be out for too long. I got outside and am still thinking I was stuck in the movie Twister. OMG! The wind was absolutely insane. Try hurrying to class in heals while making sure you dont flash the whole campus...no, dont try it, it was NOT fun. So I sat through a very long hour of statistics, though it was masked as psyc and nearly fell asleep listening to the professor ask what r^2 was. I can tell you what r^2 is not, its not the psychology class that I signed up to take. I really need to find an alternative to that class. On my way home I was so enfuriated by the weather. I promised myself I would not leave the flat for the rest of the day. Its a good thing I did too, they had to close down a road on campus because things were being blown off the library roof. What a nightmare. So I came back and took a very long nap, woke up for dinner, and just chilled in the common room with everyone for the night. I watched Veronica Mars for the first time, it was really good...it will have to be my replacement for Weeds since I finished all those episodes.
Today, I had to run around campus for various things. I got my courses approved (though I still might have to change one), met with my professor about the film course Im taking, went to the International Office yet again, and picked up the ingredients for my first dinner. Then I came back and cooked like a mad woman. Dont get me wrong, most people actually care what they cook for dinner, but then some just completely slack off and were left still hungry. So I wanted to make sure that, at least for my first meal, I made something that everyone would love. So I made Chicken Cordon Bleu, Brown Sugar Glazed Carrots, Twice Baked Potatos, Yorkshire Puddings, and then Chocolate Mousse for dessert. I did spend more than I wanted to, but everyone loved the meal so much that it was worth it. People said they were impressed, so I was really happy. After dinner, we all went to Tesco, and the boys informed me more about the British food and what to buy and what not to buy. Its more different than I thought it would be, as far as products and names go. So then we all came back, hung out, watched Peep Show and laughed a lot. Now, Im going to bed. Tomorrow Im exploring the town of Birmingham!!...and getting sushi!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb