Modules...what a mess.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
January 17th 2007
Published: January 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

LOW of the Day: Its a toss up between showing up to another empty lecture room, and talking about cannibalism for two hours.
HIGH of the Day: The dance party I had in my room between classes. Im a PiPhi in every country. (PS-the only thing I have in the fridge is like 5 different kinds of cheese, yogurt, and cider...and we all know, you can tell youre a PiPhi when youre obsessed with cheese.)

So yesterday I didnt do much of anything. With a change in my class schedule, I dont have classes on Tuesday OR Friday...very nice. So, naturally, I woke up late and bummed around the flat and watched some CSI. After dinner we all sat around and scared the crap out of my flatmate, Melissa, because she has suiter...who might be a little creepy. I finally came back to my room and gave in to the show Weeds and watched the rest of the 2nd season. OMG!!! So amazing!! That show is unbelievable, my jaw was on the ground.
I woke up for my 11:00 this morning and then headed to my 12-2. After finally finding the room, I went in...it was empty. This is the second time I have showed up to a class to find that its not there. So, furious, I came back to my room and double, then triple-checked to make sure I read the timetable correctly. I did. So then I checked the webpage for any changes. That website said it is held at an earlier time during the day. AHH!!!! Ive been trying so hard to make sure that I am not behind in classes, but there's only so much to do. So I emailed the professor asking what time the class is actually held and if my grade will be in jeopardy. She responded with times that are completely different than on the timetable site and the department web site. WTF!! I dont know how they expect everyone to just know these things. Is everyone else having these troubles? So, luckily, there is a night session of the class that I could attend tonight.
I had to talk to a history advisor about possibly signing up for another history class to replace the REALLY difficult psychology class Im stuck in. He told me he would be in his office from 2pm. I stopped by around 210...he wasnt there. So I waited around for like 15 minutes. Ironically, across the hall, I overheard an advisor informing a student about the opportunity to study in The States...in Connecticut. Weird. So when the boy came out, I told him that I had overheard and asked him to let me know if he had any questions. After he looked at me like I was a total creep he realized that I just wanted to help. I just thought that was soooooo weird, that I just happened to be across the hall from that conversation. Anyways, I was directed to a printing room and printed out some notes and came back to see if the advisor was in yet, but no, of course he wasnt. So I talked to the receptionist and she was really nice and tried to help me. I left him a note and have yet to hear back from him. After that frustrating encounter (or lack there of), I went to find out if Im still gonna have to pay the $1200 for a room I wont be living in over break. It looks like Im really going to have to do it all myself to try and get into different housing for next term. Boo.
So I came back to the flat for a while, once again frustrated. I then traveled to the night session of the history class I tried to attend earlier in the day. This is the only class I have yet to attend, and the one I was most excited to take. My advisor, who taught at Warwick for a while, and knows my major suggested the class. The name is Latin American Culture and Food. I thought that it would be interesting to learn where Latin food came from and how it orginated. I also expected to learn a lot about the culture in general and gain some knowledge that I could apply to planning large events and weddings with Latin undertones. Yea...WE TALKED ABOUT CANNIBALISM FOR TWO FREAKING HOURS!! The whole time Im thinking "this has got to be a joke." It was one of those things where everyone tries to seem all intelligent and informed (including myself) and then you realize that two hours has passed, youve come full-circle and EVERYTHING has just been arbitrary jargon. The best part is, were talking about Cannibalism all next week as well. Yum, Latin Food? No. Eating humans? Yes. Im praying that the rest of term is based on more practical topics that might actually be useful in life.
So, nauseous and dumbfounded I called Mom on the way home and vented about the experience. Eventually I ate dinner and hung out for a while before going to Tesco with some of the boys. When we got back, I tried the soccer video game the boys are obsessed with, I was undefeated...until I played against an actual person. O well. The fridge was disgusting so I cleaned it out and Im pretty sure someone was keeping human meat in there...fitting isnt it? We hit balloons around the common room for the rest of the night and I think Ill end the night with some Daria or Sex and the City. Tomorrow, one class and then the weekend!!

Advertisement



19th January 2007

I like creativity....clearly
So I'm bored at work...typical. I've decided that I want to get a dog after I graduate. I either want a Mini Yorkie or a Westie. Check out what I found while I was browsing... http://search.petfinder.com/petnote/displaypet.cgi?petid=7717984 Bridgette and Gidget? Oh la la

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb