...and then I got lost again.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
January 15th 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So yesterday I slept in...and by that I mean that after going to bed around 7am, I didnt wake up until 230pm. I just kinda bummed around and watched CSI on my comp. Then we all had dinner and watched the worst TV shows ever. We watched this animal explorer thing that followed a baby wildabeast (sp?) and the guys I was watching it with were just waiting for the brutal carnage of it. It was disturbing. Then we watched the "Worlds Worst Police videos". Half of them took place in NoWhere, USA and I had to defend myself against the stupidity of some Americans. But there was a clip of a crazy jail break that happened in England, which made me feel better. We waited for the last flat mate to finally get back to school and then all just sat around while the boys played their crazy soccer video game.
Today I had my first classes here. What a nightmare!!! Of course, as with any campus, navigating on your first day of classes is near impossible. I dont have the best sense of direction, which also doesnt help. So I asked my flatmate to show me where my first class was in room B2.02. He pointed it out on the map and I went early to find the building and get settled in. Well B2.02 wasnt where Peter said it would be and I accidently barged into the chemistry department trying to find it. So I asked directions from a random person, she had no idea. So then I found some people in the library and they directed me back to where I had just come from. After being unsuccessful yet again, I went to a big building that had people filtering in and out of it thinking that someone there would know. Well, that turned into another problem. I didnt even think of it when I came here until I noticed that I was running into people my first day, but people walk on the left side of the sidewalk. Its just like how they drive here, and I am so not use to it. I cant count how many awkward situations Ive gotten myself into just walking up some stairs or down a hallway. So anyways, people were filtering in and out of this building and I went to get in on the right side (like we do here) and was caught in the sea of students. I couldnt move because there were just so many bodies. So I waited for about 3 minutes to get my foot in the door. I asked a student in the building for room B2.02...she had no idea. So then I ventured to an academic building I knew there was a reception in with someone who must know the campus. The woman there directed me to the business building. I got there and that woman directed me to a different business building. The building wouldnt let me in, so I walked back up the road to make sure it was thg right one, and then back down when I saw it was. So I ventured around to the main entrance and the woman there said that there was a B2.02 there...but it was someone's office. GREAT! At this point I was almost in tears. I was about 30 minutes late for a class that I had missed the week before because we werent able to sign up yet. So, I look at my planner and realize that Im a COMPLETE idiot. AM213- Room B2.12. I dont think Ive ever been angrier with myself. I finally made it to class, 35 minutes late to a room that I had walked right past about 5 times. So after that class, I came back to the room for a 15 minute break and went back out to go to my business class. Then I had Psyc, which was incredibly boring and wayyyy over my head so Im going to have to look into another course. I had 30 minutes before my last class. Exhausted and overwhelmed by the whole day, I made it back to my room where I passed out. We all had dinner and just chilled in the common room for the rest of the night. We had this big discussion about America and England. We talked about stereotypes, geography, sports, school, weather, accents, fashion and lots of other things. Its so interesting to hear points of view from someone thats not American. I didnt realize how many things are different over here and how negative Americans are stereotyped. Yes, some of the stereotypes are based on truth, but others (like that we're all stupid) are just not. Though I really miss talking with Americans, I know that this experience is going to be (and already has been) very culturally enlightening. Before coming here, I already tried to keep my mind open and not stereotype people, but this 6 months is really going to help me with this. Though America will always be home, I wonder if I will favor another country by July. Anyways, I should be going to bed. Until tomorrow...

Advertisement



23rd January 2007

I have the same problem with walking on the right side of things! I always walk into people and get caught on stairs hahaha. I'm so jealous that you live with and know so many british people! It might be strange not to know many Americans but it's really really weird to be living in Scotland and not to have met a single Scot! PS we need to arange a little get together sooooon ;)

Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb