Still Tak'n't Easy 'n N'Castle


Advertisement
Published: August 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Evidently relaxation disagreed with me. I woke up with a blocked nose and sore throat. I could have put this down to being in zero degree temperatures for the last few days but I’m sure my body was disagreeing with taking it easy. This was another relaxing day. We went into town with Paul and he bought some travel items for Morocco trip, I took photos and we had a few coffees.

Tynemouth was the next stop. Sophie, Paul, Jo and I headed north and out to the coast for a fish and chips dinner. I ordered the scampi which was lovely - I wish we could get it like that in New Zealand. Tynemouth was much prettier than the other suburbs we had visited so far in Newcastle. It is a seaside town in the true British style - family run shops and real English pubs. Right on the coast are the ruins of Tynemouth Priory perched atop a hill overlooking the beach. We were thinking of taking a walk along the beach but - let me paint the picture for you - there was heavy ice on the footpath and snow on the sand. A beer in one of the locals helped to warm us all up though.

We went back to Paul’s and had a game of Buzz on PS2 with Mathius and Sophie - two of Paul’s flatmates. It was after 0200 when we got to bed and we had to get up earlyish for our train to York the next day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Tynemouth Castle & PrioryTynemouth Castle & Priory
Tynemouth Castle & Priory

Snow on the beach!
Sophie, Paul & JoSophie, Paul & Jo
Sophie, Paul & Jo

... standing in front of a dumpster. We decided it was a better metaphor for the day than the snow on the beach behind them.


Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1092s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb