Here I am!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » South Yorkshire » Doncaster
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone...how are you all....well I am now in Doncaster which is in Yorkshire. I am staying with a friend Margaret but have just come in to town by myself to get some shopping done. She has bad asthma and can't get around easily. Just found this internet cafe by accident.

Yesterday we went to a big country estate, Chatsworth House owned by the Duke and Duchess of Derbyshire. Guess what? while I was pushing Margaret round in a wheelchair we ran into the Duchess and I met her! I even managed to get a photo of her as well!

The tour was great though as I keep saying....hectic. I just love driving down through the Bremmer Pass in Austria and the Dolomites in northern Italy were amazing. Italy was my favourite country.....Venice was lovely if you could block out the crowds! We were like ants crawling around. But it was nice going on our gondola ride through the canals with a musician playing for us. Just like you would imagine it to be. One night our bus driver took us to an authentic little Italian restaurant for a meal. It wasn't part of the itinerary, just something we went off to do as a last thought. We all sat up on a rooftop balcony and the food was just lovely. It was a real experience. The beer hall in Munich was another great moment...it is a huge place that seats 6-8 thousand when full! Staff walk around serving those large beer jugs, much singing and banging!...it was great fun!

I was glad to get out of London yesterday...lovely city by by crikey it is busy! You have no idea!
Doncaster is nice but I will be glad to move up north and get into the countryside.

Looking outside now it is sunny but it was cold when I went out. I will have to go...time running out and Margaret will be wondering where I have got to! I now have phone credit and will get around to ringing everyone. Haven't heard anything from Ryan...are you still there? I will call you tomorrow when I get to Thirsk.

OK love to all....I am not homesick OK! but missing everyone.

ps....Spent a small fortune in Florence....Francie now I see what you meant by the leather bags. They are everywhere!

Courtney if you got my last email can you also send it off to Lara....also yous should be getting postcards soon....hopefully!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.35s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb