jogle 30th April 2011 Bridgwater to Oakhampton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bridgwater
April 30th 2011
Published: May 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

"on the road again , " oh god Im on the bloody road again",!
early start ..well 7 ish and back on the A38 toward Taunton, roads were quiet and weather good , i made decent progress through Taunton and stopped for a breakfast at Sheppys cider farm shop near Wellington www.sheppyscider.com , I parked my bike outside the Tea room which was bustling with a coach party , ordered a full breakfast and toast and tea , to cut to the chase the manageress gave me the breakfast "on the house" as I was riding for charity - virginmoneygiving.com/paulhooperjogle11 I was also given £10.00 for my charity of winstons wish by a passer by who had read the stickers on my panniers .nice ..,.very nice.😊
this was to be the start of a pleasant day .Somewhere around Tiverton I paused for a pic at the welcome to Devon sign , it was here that I was joined for a while by 2 Joglers from Manchester , Mel and Geoff , I later overtook them on Monday am on the road to Lands end, ther ride had been supported but had been full of problems , I was pleased to ride with them up to Bickleigh where they stopped for lunch I had to press on.
along the "38 to the A361 -A3072 , this takes you along a picturesque road (busy though ) adjacent to the River Exe, , the A3072 splits in Bickleigh and due tio a route choice in jogleonachopper blog , i took theA396 (Robs Passage) to Exeter rather than the murderous Cadbury Hills to Crediton.Bickleigh is stunning with pubs both sides of the river , i stopped for a few minutes to ensure that i was heading the right way, i watched a wedding party enjoying themselves posing for photos .
In Exeter I saw a large group of jogleing cyclists all wearing the same gear , i had seen this lot before in Carnforth , they were hanging round a bike shop ! ,
I foloowed signs for A30 , past St davids Station ...it was pretty straightforward , once out to the A30 proper i paused to call home and update folks on my progress .
Not much to say about the A30 except its busy /fast and noisy , but there is a good apron to ride in and I never felt too bothered.
So the good news about the A30 is that it is fast and before long I was dropping down into Oakhampton , to look for a campsite , the bad news was I had to leave the town and climb all the way back up to near the A30 to find one!
I camped the night at Betty Cottles , a pub with Inn and campground..I ate a lasagne , couple of beers and turned in tomorrow Cornwall and the end is in sight!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb