Jogle May 2011 Sunday 1st May Okehampton to Hayle


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Okehampton
May 1st 2011
Published: May 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I started the day by disgarding all the old Atlas pages that i had used up , it left me with 2 !, yes just 2 pages to get me to Lands End..exciting stuff ..the non exciting stuff was the weather it had rained in the nightb and was tthreatning to storm the sky was a blue,black and coupled with bright sun made it look scary.
anyway off again up the hill from okehampton to the A 30 , target Launceston for Breakfast ,the wind was strong but behind me and i flew 22 mph for miles , the panniers act like sails ...great when the wind is with you.I passed the welcome to Cornwall sign at high speed , I whooped with delight.
I decided that Launceston was too far off the road so stopped for some snacks at a service station, and ploughed on .This part of the A 30 is (in Matt Crockers words) corrugated ..up/down/up /down, the climbs are long though and are rideable .Bodmin moor next I was still being blown over the moor at breakneck speed , however the weather was staarting to change , big raindrops , then hail , like being shotblasted I developed cycling Tourettes , swearing into the wind F'ing and jeffing at the weather, I took refuse in an access road that led to Bodmin airfield , I watched a pilot wrestling his light aircraft into land ..it was going all over the place , I was thankful that i was on a bike.
I had to shelter again later under the parapet of a bridge as visibility had become difficult due to spray from wagons and high speed cars , (i do have to add that the lorry drivers in this country are generally excellent and almost all gave me more than enough room .)
All this sheltering had lost me an hour , but I peddled on through Indian Queens , I had another Jelly baby stop :D, fired down some lucozade and decided that Hayle was doable.
On through Redruth , Cambourne and into Hayle ...premier inn , expensive but worth it .
My lift for tomorrow was on his way, good on ya Gary Partridge , I ordered a z bed so he could doss in my room , tomorrow this madness ends and my share options in Johnsons baby powder will mature
I showered , talced up and went to the bar 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb