Jogle April 29th Royal wedding Friday . Gloucester to Bridgwater.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire » Gloucester
April 29th 2011
Published: May 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was up and about early ..walked my dog and got straight on the phone , I decided to try Mitchells cycles in the City , I explained that i was "jogling and desperat to fix the wheel "i was really pleased to get a positive response , "we are open from 10 but just bring the wheel in and we will get it done".
By 11 am , i had the repaired wheel in hand and scurried home to reassemble the bike ...best of all is tha Mitchells Cycles from Barton St Gloucester did not charge me anything to straighten the wheel and to replace 4 spokes ! "back of the net"!
I had a Facebook message from a friend who is in training for a London/Paris ride , he said he would head out onto the A38 around 12 ish to see if he could cycle with me out to Thornbury nr Bristol (good on you Brian Chu!)
He did catch up with me along the Hempstead by - pass and round in front taking the headwind all the way , this really helped my speed and I crossed in Aztec West under the M5 in record time .
We paused a bit on the way for Brian to take some pics including one of me lounging in a flytipped sofa ...i didnt want to get out as my butt was really sore ! still more powdwer down the shorts and away i went .
Bristol was fun ...: - , i had to cycle over a paint strewn tarmac , with vans full of police near the city centre , the aftermath of an evenings rioting in a squat ...something to do with anti capitalism due to a Tesco opening ....i quite like the clubcard points me self lol!
the weather was great for cycling , pretty inert/mundane , no breeze and a high cloud , that appeared to be clearing .
After Bristol City centre the road passes by Ashton Gate and out towards Bristol Airport this is still on the A38 nand is a significant climb . I paused at Bristol Airport to watch a KLM flight take off right over my head ...love it ., a little after the airport the road drops on a sweeping arc right down to lower Langford anfd the Weston turn off (A368) .it was here i stopped for a delicious fish and chip tea ...
On now through the Somerset levels ..pretty /and flat , it was a lovely evening .I stopped and chatted briefly to a lejogger on a heavily laden touring bike , he told me this was day 2 and he was not enjoying it at all , I had to mention that his evening may get worse soon as he had the massive sweeping hill UP to Bristol that I had just cruised down to look fwd to!
it was an easy slide into Bridgwater , and the premier inn on the edge of town (they allow the bike in the room)
I made a few phone calls to confirm that i had made it in to Bridgwater and then went to the pub!! , I then ahd anotrher meal anfd a couple of pints before getting a great nights sleep .tomorrow DEVON>>>>Theres only 1 more county after Devon :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb