"Always Look on the Bright Side of Life'


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
May 30th 2015
Published: May 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I finished up a long day with an afternoon matinee of 'Spamalot' and I still have that silly song running through my head. The most fun I've had in a very long time. I miss Monty Python, don't you? No photos of the show, of course, but I should have snapped the Royal Theatre Bath - a lovely venue. It must be great to play there.

Better part of the day was spent at the Roman Baths. Briefly, the Romans discovered the hot springs in the first century and built a temple to Minerva and a complex system of bathing rooms as was a part of their custom and society at the time. Discovered in the 18th century, the British have excavated and preserved the Roman structure through the centuries. After a few priviliged (and some royal) people swore by the healing powers of the waters - both for soaking and drinking - and the rush was on for the toney set to 'take the waters in Bath.' The Pump Room (which dates from 1789) features in more than one of Jane Austen's novels and "the place" to be seen. And the food not bad either. I didn't have tea, but opted for a chicken lunch and glass of champagne. This may be the only photo I have taken of me. How else was I to show I was there without making a selfie? I can't do selfies, my hand shakes too much if I hold it out too far. My sweet, apple-cheeked waiter was very obliging.

This is travel: begin your day at the Roman Baths and end up loosing all your inhibitions at the final curtain sing-a-long of 'Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life'. Few days ahead with top this one.

much love,

30


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb