Kendal - Bath


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
March 7th 2010
Published: March 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I completed my week in Kendal and finished the seat of the chair I was working on. Even with the instructors there helping, doing all the proper steps to upholster a piece takes a long time, even for a basic chair. I’ve attached a picture of what I did. There is also a photo of me with Marion, my instructor and some people working in the shop (I was one of two students there this past week, but there are others there who work for Kendal Upholstery). All in all, a great experience.

After I finished up on Friday, I got back on the train and headed to Bath which is northwest of London. I did a tour of the Roman Baths, went to Pulteney Bridge, and went to the Fashion Museum. The Roman baths were really interesting from a historic engineering perspective. They are the only ancient roman baths that are still functioning in the UK and it is amazing to see the elaborate plumbing system they built with such a long time ago. There were also a few interesting buskers in the square outside the baths. The fashion museum was nice but smaller than I expected, however, I did get to try on a crinoline! Also, (Dad this one is for you…) Jamie Oliver has just opened an Italian restaurant in Bath - I didn’t go in but I did take a picture of the sign I saw outside. There were absolutely no reasonably priced accommodations available for tonight in Bath (there was a really large conference there this weekend), and since I had been to most of the main attractions I decided to carry on to St. Austell tonight, and I’m going to spend time at The Eden Project and will do a separate post on this later today.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



21st March 2010

Love you in the crinoline and then of foggy you :)

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 54; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb