Shropshire 43 - Shrewsbury /Sabrina the river goddess/a Shrewsbury Houdini /gas struts, stepped tyres and brake fluids /La Piazetta , Appleyards and Panforte


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Shropshire » Shrewsbury
November 21st 2023
Published: November 22nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

I don't mind a trip to Shrewsbury now and again . It feels that there is always something to do and something new to see . I know eventually I will run out of small alleyways to explore , the museum will have nothing new to see but at the moment I still have a list of things to do . Places to see and things to tick of that list that makes up the county town of Shrewsbury .

Today was going to be no different . I was not sure how long I would have to waste . Today was just a small service for the car . A biennual change of brake fluid which should take only an hour or so . The garage would do a car Health check and send me a video but that would not take long . Perhaps the brakes needed replacing . I was told way back in March that the discs were scoured and needed replacing but that they would last until July . Well July had come and gone and there was no warning coming up on Ziggy . If they needed replacing then I was looking at wasting a few hours and a trip on the river boat Sabrina beckoned . I noticed that the sailings were still going despite the lateness of the season . I could go for an hour sail down the Severn at 11am . Just right I thought to waste time.

My journey to the garage was uneventful as normal . Not much traffic on the road . That is the way I like it . No traffic queueing at traffic lights or roundabouts. Just a steady stream of which I was part . None of the stop start that punctuated a trip to the garage in Chester. Arriving on time I headed for the reception desk . No waiting just a cheery pop over there and they will book you in . Another cheery good morning and the paperwork was sorted . We discussed what the plan was for the car and how I would spend my time . A double espresso over there reading a bit of my book I said . Are you going into town ? Before I could say I intended to catch the Park and Ride from up the road a complimentary ticket was ripped out of a book and handed over to me . Service as always second to none .

I lingered a while over my coffee before setting off on the short walk to the bus station . Ziggy had already been moved . I did not have long to wait today for a bus . It was waiting for me as I strolled across the car park pushing my way up the steps through some drunks who clearly did not speak English . An unusual sight at this time of the morning . Not so much the drunks here and there but the fact that they were Eastern European .

The short ten minute ride took me into the town , I got off the bus earlier than I usual. I wanted to call at the Regimental Museum for the Shropshire Regiment to check on opening times . Sadly there were not open for another one and a half hours . I had other things to do though to pass the time away . I headed up to Wyle Cop . Known as the longest street full of independent shops . I called into Appleyards. An odd name for a shop that stocked nothing but Italian goods. The smells are typically Italian. From the cheeses to the authentic hams. From the spices to the cakes . Close your eyes and this is the closest you get to an Italian shop. I wanted some Panforte . That delicious Siennese delight full of nuts , candied fruit and spices . Made in Sienna it is the perfect accompaniment to an espresso. The bitterness of the coffee compliments the sweetness of the Panforte . I arranged to call back later after my coffee , trip down the Severn and the visit to the museum . Panforte is a heavy piece of confectionary and the last thing I wanted to do was carry two of the articles with me all day .

The square was next and my stop at La Piazetta . A small cafe run by Italians who made proper Italian coffee . I sat in the corner with my book , my double espresso and my breakfast croissant . Occaisionally I passed the time of the day with the lady on the next table . She was waiting for her daughter and granddaughter who were meeting her for coffee. After 20 minutes I realised that the garage had contacted me and I had somehow missed the call . It was much earlier than I expected so could mean a few things . The first that the car was ready and I needed to rush back to Appleyards to make my Panforte purchase . Or I needed work doing and had time to get on with the sailing trip down the Severn on the Sabrina .

It turned out that the Sabrina would have to wait for another day as Ziggy was ready . I bypassed the museum earmarking that for another day but stopped whilst waiting for the bus at a closed church . I had noticed it many times and it purported to be open . St Marys church looked lovely from the photographs so I thought a quick visit was an idea only to find the door firmly locked . There was a stone memorial on the outside walls which intrigued me . I read all about Robert Cadman born 1711. Described as a steeplejack a cross between Fred Dibnah and Houdini . Also described as a ropeslider . Between the years of 1732 and 1739 he undertook feats of daring by sliding down or flying down ropes . Some ropes were attached to the steeple of St Marys .. For the enjoyment of the crowds he tried to slide all the way across Gay Meadow to the River Severn . There were 250 metres of rope to climb before he reached the 68 metre spire of the church . A feat in itself as he would perform tricks all the way up. At the top before launching himself into space he donned a wooden breastplate designed with a central groove . The groove was supposed to help him stay on the line . However on the 2nd February 1739 the rope broke and he fell to his death . I wondered how many people walked past St Marys without even knowing anything about young daredevil Cadman .

I picked the car up , brakes OK and will be fine for another few months . Brake fluid changed and good to go for another two years . Tyres - keep an eye on those . Gas struts need replacing . Perhaps I would be back in Shrewsbury in February 20124. Perhaps St Marys would be open . I doubted the Sabrina would be sailing but there would always be the museum . Shrewsbury continues to give on every visit and I look forward to ticking off a few more places on my next visit .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb