Fling 2 rocks the pitch....oh yeah!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 23rd 2005
Published: October 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

70s Twos!!70s Twos!!70s Twos!!

Fling 2(L-R):Me,Tat,Craig,Dave,Metal Dave,Fish,Anna & Pete (in the middle)
After a pretty late night I headed out early to catch a lift to Nott'm Trent Uni for day 2 of Damme Heere Slamme Fayre ultimate tourney. Our first game was Fling 1 v. Fling 2 to see who would go to the Middle Eight finals or the Bottom Four. Fling 2 beat Fling 1 something like 10-2 which was pretty bad. It was a really good game though. So Fling 2 moved into the Middle Eight and Fling 1 went to the Bottom Four to fight it out for the spoon.

Tristan showed up for the second game of the day and was a really big help, especially since Metal Dave was out with an injured shoulder. The whole day was pretty good, kinda mellow. We won a couple and lost a few, but we made it into the Finals which was pretty awesome. Our final was against UBU (no clue what uni, sorry) and they beat us by one point I think. The game was really really good but they came out on top to win the Middle Eight and the plate.

The trophies given out were pretty cool. The winners of the Top and Middle brackets
Bigger Than U (BTU)Bigger Than U (BTU)Bigger Than U (BTU)

(L-R):Ange, Sam, ?, Linz, Tom, ? ?, Nimble & Nimble's younger brother
got wooden discs which were so cool and the winners of the Loser bracket won the spoon (yeah Fling 1!). The tourney was fantastic and I learned a lot (particularly about a 5 person stack and how to beat it--it totally threw me off the first time I saw it) plus I absolutely had a blast.

After getting home and showering, frantically emailing my presentation info to my group (of which one of the emails didn't go through which isn't good!) and checking out my email/who's online, I headed out for another dinner with Fling. I walked to Fish's house and then we headed over to A Taste of India (I hope you get that it's an Indian restaurant but if you didn't now you do). It was good and a new experience since I've never really had Indian food before. There was lots so I brought a bit back home with me to be further shared with Leslie on Monday night. 😊 I was going to walk home after that but Pete was really nice and drove me home which was a lot better than me walking home by myself again. Thus ended a great weekend!!!

Random
Fling 1Fling 1Fling 1

Back: Rod, Laura, Maddy, Lisa & Harp Front: Bryn, Rocky & Jelley
Thoughts/Observations:

One of the UBU guys was wearing a shirt that said "Talk Nerdy to Me". Totally fun! hehe.

Oh! I forgot to mention the standings and how purple one side of Nim's foot was. So gross!!! and painful!!! Back to the standings: Fling 1 in 16th place, Fling 2 in 10th and Bigger Than U (BTU)* ended 8th.

*BTU was a team of half Fling players and half friends. They're a really fun and good team. There thought was that they were bigger than the rest and that gave them a great advantage...in the end it kinda did but not so much. They wore these really awesome black shirts that said "Height Restrictions Apply" and they looked pretty foreboding in them, let me tell you. We played them for our very first game of the tourney. Funtimes!

One more thing! I finally succeeded in getting Leslie to create a travel blog type thing for her friends and family back home. But being the perfectionist that she is, she had to totally create/write her own. Goodness! It looks really cool though so check it out. Go to: Notes from Notts




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Sideways Fling 2Sideways Fling 2
Sideways Fling 2

Back: Metal Dave, Pete, Stu, Craig, Tristan & Dave Front: Me, Fish, Tat & Anna


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb