1st Church


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
September 24th 2007
Published: September 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was the first opportunity that we had to attend church since we have been here. Storm offered to bring us to the church that he has been attending which meets in an old school building, the Cornerstone Church. It is a contemporary service and I really liked it. It was very strange to hear everyone singing a familiar song in a very unfamiliar accent. The service was also set up very differently, with a good portion of the congregation leaving before the sermon for different meetings and, I think, Sunday School. The sermon was on Luke 15:11, the Prodigal Son. This was part of one of the Bible Talks this summer at Luther Crest, so I am very familiar with the story. Strangely enough, much of what he talked about I remembered myself talking about with campers this summer. But not with a Scottish accent.
They also have a big International Student program at this church. They do a program where students cam go to a family's house for dinner and to get to know and have a personal experience with a British family. I really liked the service and people that we talked to, so I am pretty sure that I will be going back.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb