Where Did Scotland go?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Northumberland
May 16th 2009
Published: May 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Somewhere around noon today, when I was alternately dozing and watching the scenery go by as I rode the Perryman bus from Edinburgh to Berwick-on-Tyne, Scotland's Border Country slipped away on me and I was back in England. It turned out there was only two buses a day to the Holy Island (Lindisfarne) and the second was late afternoon, with the last return being a half hour later (the tide floods the road). So I thought I had missed out, but then I founjd out I could take the taxi for the 20 minute ride from Berwick.

The island was very interesting, thanks in part to the fact that the historical centre stored my bagsa for me when I was looking around. There are many places of interest including a castle built in the 18th century to protect the place from the Scots! Finally got a close up pic of a sheep who seemed quite unjconcerned that I was walking through her pasture near the ruins of the priory. It was a very fast visit, but the rain waited until we were at the bus stop on the mainland, and the wind was strong and cool but not icy cold. It was overcast all day though the sun tried to poke through at times.

The last shuttle off the island was at 5PM, and we caught the Newcastle bus at 5:30, arriving around 7:30. I was going to stash my baga at the train station and travel light for two nights, but the metro station by the bus stop was closed for renovations. I got directions to the next stop, but as usua;l missed a corner, and ended up being guided in the right direction by two very helpful women. It was about a 20 minute ride to Sunderland,f where the owner of the Chaise B&B met me and brought me here. Luckily I found an unsecured wireless network to tap into as this place does not have one. It is over 150 years old, but clean and comfortable, and the owner is very helpful. Net door is a man in his 80's with alzheimers who has lived here for 24 years!

Tomorrow being Sunday breakfast does not start until 8AM, but I will quickly eat and head by bus back into the city, hopefully in time for a bus tour of Hadrian's Wall.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb