From the Neolithic to Roman.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Northumberland » Haltwhistle
August 30th 2017
Published: August 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Missed my ale pie last night. I know sad but true. My fault though as I noted that the pie came from a larger pie and I really wanted an individual one as I maintain that slices reheated go a little hard and dry around the edges. So the search goes on. Long ago have I given up on finding rabbit in any form so my holy grail is now a good ale pie (well not really. I haven't completely given up but I'm talking myself into it!). But the own brewed ales are very good and the pub itself is very good. As well as canine brews it is dog friendly and dogs are everywhere. There were 6 in just one of the areas here!

We travelled to the north of the Lakes District near Keswick to the stone circles of Castlerigg. The drive was as lovely as you'd expect and the circle itself quite fascinating. It's one of the older circle in the UK and set in quite an idyllic location. Much is still uncertain about the function of such circles but regardless they feel 'special'. They aren't spooky but there is something about them for sure.

The rest of the drive is mundane but the closer you get to Hadrian's Wall the better is the scenery and sense of place. I know how impressive the Wall is and it still sits majestically in the landscape as it snakes it's way over hill and plain. The Roman fort of Vinlandia is equally impressive and the glimpses we received into its history via a National Trust guide madee it even more impressive. Three hundred years of Roman habitation is chronicled in stone, architecture and artefacts and it is fascinating. The cruelty, beauty, engineering, weaponry, culture...left us quite agog.

The inn here also brews its own beers and the 'Ale Caesar' comes recommended by a couple of walkers that I was talking to. So as its approaching beer o'clock I'll leave you.

Tomorrow is real Scotland day. Big drive but into some very scenic spots.

Until Scotland.

Rob.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb