Final Day in York


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » York
December 6th 2011
Published: December 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Castle Museum 1Castle Museum 1Castle Museum 1

A Moorland Cottage c1850. A representation of a rural cottage. The furnishings are practical rather than decorative, and were often homemade and passed down from one generation to the next.
I am finally getting used to this place and tomorrow morning I am off to a new city. I have to go through London and change trains and by tomorrow night I will be in Canterbury. This morning I went to the Castle Museum, it was an interesting museum. There was a mish-mash of items and rooms ranging from a victorian street to an exhibit of the 60’s and even a dungeon. It was very informative though which was nice and I took quite a lot of pictures, of various signs as well as the exhibitions. Unfortunately I ran out of space on my SD card so I had to start going through and deleting old pictures, which takes a while. In the afternoon I went to the Railway Museum which was also really quite interesting. It reminded me a bit of Heritage Park. They also had a number of Thomas the Tank Train memorabilia there. I just recently found a television show that I used to watch as a kid, Shining Time Station and going to the museum made me think of that show. I got to see a demonstration of the turn table. It is 70 Ft long and
Castle Museum 2Castle Museum 2Castle Museum 2

Victorian Parlour c1870. Mass production had just started and furniture and decorations were starting to lose their regional characteristics.
there were 32 positions for the cars. Back when it actually used to be a station they had 4 turn tables. They were not all that big the others were 60 ft and the other two were little 40 ft ones. I spent much longer at the two museums then I meant to and I was surprised to see that it was dark as I went out to get some dinner. I did buy more than I probably should have here in York and I need to get everything to fit back into my two bags and purse!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Castle Museum 3Castle Museum 3
Castle Museum 3

A stitched sampler.
Castle Museum 4Castle Museum 4
Castle Museum 4

Traditional Christening gifts included salt, to protect against evil, an egg for fertility and a coin for wealth. In the eighteenth and nineteenth century pincushions were also given, with pins worked into intricate patterns or words!!
Castle Museum 5Castle Museum 5
Castle Museum 5

A Victorian street scene.
Castle Museum 6Castle Museum 6
Castle Museum 6

A Victorian street scene.
Castle Museum 7Castle Museum 7
Castle Museum 7

Unfortunately it is hard to read, but it is a shop that sells Haberdashery!! What an interesting word.
Castle Museum 8Castle Museum 8
Castle Museum 8

An electric refrigerator from the 1930's. They were very costly, this would have cost 80 pounds. A skilled man's average wage at this time was 5 pounds a week.
Castle Museum 9Castle Museum 9
Castle Museum 9

Oh the 60's!
Castle Museum 10Castle Museum 10
Castle Museum 10

More of the 60's.
Castle Museum 11Castle Museum 11
Castle Museum 11

I think I recall us owning an outfit or two like this!!
Castle Museum 12Castle Museum 12
Castle Museum 12

The door to Prison.
Castle Museum 13Castle Museum 13
Castle Museum 13

The cell was not that big. It was creepy though because there were all of these heavy breathing and moaning sound effects. (I didn't actually go in)!
Castle Museum 14Castle Museum 14
Castle Museum 14

Reported to have been used at York Castle they brand RT which stands for Rogue Thief.
Train Museum 1Train Museum 1
Train Museum 1

The old train station.
Train Museum 2Train Museum 2
Train Museum 2

A mail car. Mail used to be sent on high speed trains and there were post men who would sort through and guard the mail while it was on the train.
Train Museum 3Train Museum 3
Train Museum 3

If you wanted to post your letter directly to the mail car on the train it would cost an extra half penny!
Train Museum 4Train Museum 4
Train Museum 4

The Japanese Bullet Train.
Train Museum 5Train Museum 5
Train Museum 5

An example of early train cars. The car on the left was a third class open carriage! The middle car is first class and had upholstered seats, glazed windows to shut out the weather and oil lamps to provide light. The car on the far left provided two box like compartments for second class. They had glazed windows and oil lighting but bench seats and a plain interior created a dark and austere feel to the accommodation.
Train Museum 6Train Museum 6
Train Museum 6

The Green Arrow. These locomotives could pull very heavy trains, which made them particularly useful during the Second World War. Their exceptional performance led some people to call them 'the engines that won the war'.
Train Museum 7Train Museum 7
Train Museum 7

The turntable in action. (Although it is a photo so you can't actually tell that it is moving).


Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb