New Town, New Adventures


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Canterbury
December 7th 2011
Published: December 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

York MinsterYork MinsterYork Minster

A view of York Minster from the wall.
This morning I got up early and went for a walk along the wall of York, before getting on the train to Canterbury. Most of the rest of the day was spent traveling and a little bit spent getting lost. There are no direct trains from York to Canterbury (or if there are I couldn’t find it). This meant that I had to change in London. I was actually quite fortunate because the two train stations (Kings Cross and St Pancras) were across the street from each other. St Pancras is a large multi level international train station. I didn’t get lost, so much as it took me a while to figure out exactly where to catch my train from. I did however get on the right train and made my way to Canterbury West. I really wanted to go to Canterbury East since that is closer to my hostel and would have been a great deal easier. As it was I arrived at 2pm and I opted to walk rather than take a taxi. I started in the wrong direction, but there was a farmers market that way so it wasn’t too bad. After finding the correct direction I walked
Wall 1Wall 1Wall 1

The wall of the city of York.
down High Street, which is the main city centre. I then got a bit turd around at the roundabout but with my ipod map and a bit of luck I managed to head in the right direction and find the hostel. It is a backpackers hostel and they are very friendly people running it. By the time I got there it was getting late and so I went out and bought some food for dinner before retiring for a full (and my only day) in Canterbury.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Wall 2Wall 2
Wall 2

The pass over the road.
Wall 3Wall 3
Wall 3

The pass over the city.
CanterburyCanterbury
Canterbury

The entrance to Canterbury.
Canterbury HostelCanterbury Hostel
Canterbury Hostel

The lockers.


Tot: 0.355s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb