Wigan, Haworth to Settle


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » Settle
May 18th 2011
Published: May 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Spent some quality time with family over the past couple of days. Met my Cousin Sara and her family, not much different too us, enjoy a drink a two...........Very enjoyable time and we hope we have convinced them to visit Australia in the near future.
Spent Saturday night in Manchester with my other cousin Joanne and her husband, Nathan, had drinks and then dinner at Gaucho's, a fantastic steak house. And again Cath made a very good effort to get them to Australia along with the waitress from the 'Slug & Lettuce'. The way it's going Cath and I are going to have a permanent queue of visitors at our door step. On Sunday we had a family reunion at my Aunty Jane's where Cath and I met even more relatives and although I didn't hear, I am sure she has invited them to Australia. The more the merrier.
Left Wigan on Monday and headed to Haworth, North Yorkshire to spend a night with my Uncle Chris and Aunty Sheila. They showed us the sights of Haworth and of course the inside of their favorite pub. Haworth is famous for the Bronte sisters, Cath knows who they are, I've got no idea... My Aunty Sheila has done some serious work on the Dovener Family tree (my mothers side of the family), so we visited a number of old villages, one called Middlemoors, where relatives on my mums side were buried in 1811. Unfortunately due to the lack of time we were unable to go into more detail.
We left Haworth and headed to Settle to spend time with my other Aunty Sheila (from my dads side) and Uncle Alex. We arrived early and ended up in the pub about 30 minutes later. Have no idea what time we got home, but Aunty Sheila had made a roast dinner, which we ate about 10.00pm.
Today (Monday) we headed to Windermere, the largest lake in England, beautiful scenery, shame about the weather, and on that note, it has rained everyday since we arrived in the UK. I am starting to feel a bit suicidal. Lucky you can't get wet in the pub. Guess what? That's were we are about to go for dinner......

It took that long to upload the Pic's we have been to dinner and back, so I added a few more


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb