Day 14 - London, England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » London
August 31st 2006
Published: September 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thursday August 31st, 2006
Day 14
London, England

Today I left a bit later, at about 10:00am, and made my way to Camden Market for a browse. I bought a few things then made my way on the tube to Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum.
I spent just under 3hours in here and I was on my own. I can't imagine how long you'd spend in here if you had someone else with you to take photos with. It cost me £27 to get in but was well worth every penny, and I got to skip the line, otherwise it would have been about an hour to get in. After getting my photo with Robbie Williams and The Beatles I decided to go and do a tour of The Tower of London.
This was really cool as well, it only cost £15 but again was well worth it; all the history here is so interesting. The towers primary function was as a fortress, a royal palace and a prison. It has also served as a place of execution and torture, an armoury, a treasury, a zoo, a mint, a public records office and as an observatory. I saw the Traitor's Gate, the ravens, several beefeaters and best of all, the British Crown Jewels which are still used by the Queen and her family to this day.
The Ravens had an interesting story. For many years the ravens have guarded to Tower of London. Legend has it that should the ravens ever leave, the White Tower would crumble and a great disaster would befall England. Fortunately, these respected residents, since the reign of King Charles II, have been protected by a royal decree. The fortunes of the Tower ravens reached their lowest point soon after World War II. With the disturbances of the bombing and the unresolved kidnapping of Mabel, only Raven Grip was left holding the fort. New recruits we soon on their way and the Tower had its full complement of birds. In recent years, even a new generation of ravens were born.
After my tour, I headed back to Oxford Street for some shopping and then headed back to Nick's. I didn't know what to do tomorrow so instead of wasting away the day I jumped online and found a tour to do, rang and booked it and my day tomorrow was sorted.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.427s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb