From Cambridge to Staplehurst


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
August 3rd 2006
Published: August 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Family in CambridgeFamily in CambridgeFamily in Cambridge

This was Dan, Laura, Pat, Peter, Chris and Jenny.
Hi Everyone,

It's been a while since I last wrote and I hope you're all well. While I was in Reading I checked out an Abbey which was really nice. Not so nice that the last Abbot (his friend apparently) and 3 monks were hanged, drawn and quartered by King Henry XIII for 'treason.' Coincidentally, just after this the abbey became a royal palace. How things work out..........

From London I went to Cambridge to see Jenny and Chris, as well as meet Jenny's sister Pat (both my Dad's cousins) and their family. It was so beautiful in Cambridge, I really loved it there. Such kind family I stayed with and i went to some really nice places. I went to Kings College and that was beautiful. It was built through the reigns of King Henry VI, VII and VIII. It's different seeing the HR symbol as opposed to the ER. There was also the symbol of HA (for Henry and Ann Boleyn). St. Clements church was really nice as well. Getting it into perspective was thinking that it was 300 years old when Elizabeth I was around.

From Cambridge went to London for the night and stayed the night with some family and that was really nice. Wenda and Alan took me to some really nice places in London I hadn't seen before. St. Bartholomews was a very old church we went to and to the spot when William Wallace was drawn and quartered. I couldn't bring myself to take a tourist picture by his grave or to even take a picture of it.

Now I'm in Staplehurst, Kent staying with some of Trevor's family - Allen, Sylvia, Sandra, Andy, Matthew and Rebecca. It's really nice around this area (I had to say that). Seriously, staying here has been really nice. I've been to Leeds Castle, Bateman's (Rudyard Kipling's home), Battle Abbey (where the battle of Hastings was) and Bodium Castle. I really liked Bodium Castle. It's a ruin but really fascinating. Matthew and I went to the highest point and although I was nervous going down it was still amazing. I'm getting a lift with Sandra and Andy to Devon on Monday to Exeter and will hopefully get some work there. Fingers crossed..........

Take care of yourselves and I'll be in touch. Remember to keep those e-mails coming. It's so nice to hear from you.

Love Danielle.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



17th September 2006

hello!
hello! how are you? what have you been doing since we dropped you off in devon? i've started school again in year 9 now its soo boring! allen and sylvia are getting on well with the bungalow and hopefully it will be finished in about 1 month! are extention is comming along as well and we are hoping the walls will be finished soon and hopefully we will be in by christmas! the horses are fine we only have ann left now as the other three people have left. my mum is much happyer now without them! well thats about all. hope to see you again soon! Love Matthew xxxxxxx

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb