Hastings & Brighton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
September 18th 2011
Published: September 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Tis a Stable home these ones ;)Tis a Stable home these ones ;)Tis a Stable home these ones ;)

but the horses have bolted.
Monday 5th
Morning in Pommygolia, we have sunshine, though we also have had a couple of showers.
Today is a bit of a rest day and plan the rest of my stay day. But I had found a lovely jewellery shop, so spent some time wandering around in that, looking at all the lovely necklaces with gemstones set in them ..mmmmmm
Bought one too.

Tuesday 6th
Went to Hastings and Brighton today
In Hastings saw the sea, the english channel to be precise, didn’t walk along the beach as I’d planned to – was so wet and windy!
Ah gotta love that 'bracing' english weather eh.

Went onto Brighton and spent quite some time perusing the Pavilion there – by golly the rich royalty sure knew how to live those days. Sat down there and had tea and scones while there. Probably the most expensive tea and scones I hope to ever have – was an equivalent of $18.00 was a lovely cuppa though 😉
In the evening I went out with my hosts to one of their friends 60th birthday party A lovely little chinese restaurant and the food was very tasty.. I got to see that delightful
Friendly nativesFriendly nativesFriendly natives

bigger than the average daddy long legs
pommy sense of humour at play.
...and some of the nicest liquid honey I've ever tasted - freshly taken from the hives - no additives ... delicious.

Where I am staying is a converted stable block, the front door is the original stable half doors but that is about all that still resembles a stable. So very pretty. The homes here are so different to NZ, you really need to see it to comprehend just how OLD this land is, compared with NZ's human habitation. I now understand why Harry Potters red headed friend lived in such a wonky house - they're dime a dozen here, they built the homes directly on the ground, meaning as the earth slowly shifted over a few hundred years so the homes tilted this way or that. The other thing that I knew but didnt really comprehend is how small people were those days, how short. I've seen armory for grown men that look like they should fit a 10 yr old boy, and the beds are so short too - even I would have been considered tall in the 16th century. I am still marveling at the homes here, the different time
aaawwwwwwaaawwwwwwaaawwwwww

They love their signs, I loved this one.
periods made so obvious by the style of the day they were built, or by whom.
see photo of the spider? the photo does not do its size justice, it was BIG!
or was it just because I was feeling a tad vulnerable when I saw it - imagine sitting comfortably on the commode, look around and spy this spider spying on you and you may have an inkling as to how I felt about it. So just to show it how much I didnt care, I took its photo for you all to enjoy as well.
Another little thing I noticed is that you never get bored while out in the car - they have signs for just about everything the horse and rider one is such an insult to the horse - its fat.
and this one warning of the olds lurking I think is ever so cute.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

StocksStocks
Stocks

originals outside a local pub.
as old fashioned as it getsas old fashioned as it gets
as old fashioned as it gets

make it Blue and one would wonder if Dr Who had just dropped in.


Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb