Windsor and Eton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Tenterden
September 15th 2011
Published: September 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

CastleCastleCastle

magnificent, opulent too
Sunday 4rd
we visited the Queens Windsor Castle, omg, that place is RICH. A completely unreal way of life to my way of thinking. I’d hate to be invited to dinner, I’d have trouble even figuring out what to do with my fork‘n knife let alone all the other manners and protocol expected. A peasant by choice, that I am would be well out of place.
Wandered around the castle, where we were allowed to go, just to comment on, the dolls house, striking me how what an alien lifestyle to mine they have, mind you, that was one lucky doll!! 😉
Feel a little bit sorry for the princesses though, given a choice I think I’d prefer the freedom of my life style, though a few bucket loads of their money I wouldn’t be adverse to, to be able to enjoy an even better level of freedom, considering the reality of this world is that freedom needs a certain level of money to upkeep it otherwise we are still all just slaves to the system, every bit as much as they are for all their plush lifestyle and money. … jmho.

Oh for that happy medium.
Had a wee giggle at the expense of one of those ever so prettily turned out red regaled guards, I did.
I made him smile, it was evil of me as I delighted in watching how hard he fought the urge to smile, to hold an impassive face …. He failed .. bwahahahahaha Goodness knows what he thought I might have done with the feather I told him I wished I had to use on him 😉 I suspect he didn’t think it was to tickle his nose… somehow.
…ehem, anyway, moving along ….
After the Castle we had lunch in one of the cafes on the street and then went back to the car, keeping a wary eye on the heavy clouds, it started to very lightly rain, and by the time we got to the car was quite steady gentle rain, but we couldn’t have timed it too much better for as soon as I got in the car, the door shutting was like a signal to the heavens to let loose and down the rain came, it caused flooding in some areas and also dampened my enthusiasm for exploring Eton collage any more than what I could see from
pretty in Redpretty in Redpretty in Red

resplendent even
the car, also ruining any chance for a decent photo of the river Thames but atleast I got to see it.
I am So fascinated by the old OLD homes, the saggy roofs, the thatched roofs, the chimney pots - just like in Mary Poppins, the houses so close to the road, they were almost a part of the road, the roads themselves too – excuse me – roads? They are not roads, they are drive ways, I was quite sure we must have been on someones private drive/ road, not a public one and again, the english are barking mad, they drive along like maniacs (I loved it) ducking in and out around parked cars and cars going the other way – they must be brilliant at playing dodgems .
Watched more mad englishmen, in their whites playing cricket, in the rain even, their sunday afternoon entertainment politely clapping at a jolly good bat at the ball. I fully expected someone in a posh voice to say something like ‘jolly good show old chap’





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb