Back to the Manor!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Otford
May 21st 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Made good time down to Otford Manor again, in time for the Oak Hall Summer Team Training Weekend - I’ve not been to one before and had no idea what to expect as I’d just noted the dates in my diary.

Arrived 8.45pm, had my photo taken for the database, found my room, and picked up my manual full of useful information! An enjoyable (if tiring) weekend ensued, with worship sessions, thought-provoking sessions based around 1 Corinthians 15 - as members of Team, we are not on holiday and it will be hard work, there will be difficult times, but we have a great future to look forward to.

Spiritually-focused sessions were interspersed with practical sessions, chances to chat and meet others, walks, and of course food! Having been one of the first up on the Saturday, my alarm clock didn’t go off on the Sunday - so I slept right through til 10am - only 1 session missed though! Saturday was also the chance for a whole-team photo, which Ian takes from the roof of the Manor, looking out over the Kent countryside. Unfortunately I was attacked by a wasp as the photo was taken, so all that can be seen is a red t-shirt with an arm-waving around as I ducked out of the way… I had so many good chats with so many good people, some of whom shall no doubt see in the future - although we don't all endeavour to keep up... had a good chat with David Field towards the end... another generalist who wants to have a go at everything, and is making a good name in doing so... was very interested in the Barbara Sher book!

By 3pm Sunday the weekend was ‘over’, so I took the opportunity to go for another walk around the countryside - taking the same walk as the previous day, but in the opposite direction - hadn’t noticed the Cross on the first way round - just shows you what approaching things from a different perspective can do for you! Head cleared, it was time for more buffet food (too much carbs!), then off to St Nick’s in Sevenoaks again - for the evening service.

There was some opportunity in the evenings to pick up the wireless signal (if one sits in the stairwell), so I took the opportunity to rescue my email account which had been protesting at being nearly full after a couple of weeks with no opportunity to download, along with a few other odds and ends, including - after trying to take a picture of myself - ordering the Quik Pod (from Play.com), having seen it advertised in The Times travel section a few weeks ago - here’s hoping it’ll live up to the promise, and stop all that hanging around waiting for someone to suitable to walk by to take a picture of you with something significant in the background… without them running off with the camera or taking a really poor photo!

Monday was the extra days training in health and hygiene, with certification. It was an interesting day, if with a few stomach-churning moments, with some new facts learnt, although I’m amazed at what I remembered from my long-stint working for Waitrose, and advice given by the Dr when I had suspected food poisoning. With an hour for the test paper, I wasn’t sure what to do when I’d finished it (and checked it) in 12 minutes, but I decided that I either knew the answer, or I was having a guess in which case my answers were not going to change, so after a few
Getting ready for the group photo...Getting ready for the group photo...Getting ready for the group photo...

In which I make a great appearance!
goodbyes I headed for the car, and down to Sussex for a couple of days - unfortunately hitting rush-hour, but otherwise arriving unscathed - the GPS is actually coming in very useful - I didn’t plan to buy it, but it got me a good deal on my mobile contract.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Summer 2007 TeamSummer 2007 Team
Summer 2007 Team

Spot my arm!
And this is how you put up a tent...And this is how you put up a tent...
And this is how you put up a tent...

Wa-hey - am not camping - am chalet-ing!
Let's put it to bed!Let's put it to bed!
Let's put it to bed!

Who found it?!


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb