It all starts here.....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Dover
December 26th 2007
Published: December 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We Will, We Will!We Will, We Will!We Will, We Will!

Excellent leaving pressie from my best mate
At last! It's only taken me years of talking about it and now I am about to hop on a plane to the other side of the world..... alone!

It's been a weird old ride; I graduated in 2000, did a lot of gigging and playing music, then realised I was stoney broke in London and started to get fed up of making meals to last days at the tender age of 27. So I quit my job, walked out of HMV and flatly refused to do anything else until I could get my foot in the door of something that would pay as close to a graduate wage as I could live on. Then I landed a reasonably decent job at the Food Standards Agency until I couldn't go beyond the contract I was on. Because I had to leave a job I finally enjoyed I decided enough was enough; music wasn't happening in London because of working and I fast started realising I was hurtling towards 30 with no direction and from what it seemed like; no future.

So, I booked myself a flight to New Zealand stopping off in Thailand for two weeks on the way, a year in New Zealand before heading to Sydney for two weeks and a two night stopover in Singapore on the way back!

That's the story so far in a tasty little morsel for you! I've started my trip now as it didn't seem worth going back to London after Christmas to work for a week when I have already wound down.

Dover is as good a place as any to start a blog. It has culture, scenery and most of all beautiful people..... wait, I think that's Canterbury on a sunny day..... anyway, I digress. I came home and so far have been on the internet for the majority of the time as there isn't a lot to do here! I do need to get organised though. I mean, there's the all important iPod conversion of my entire CD collection, the buying of essential items such as a travel pillow, and plenty of time down the pub staring at the fire wondering where I am going to be in a months time.

It's scary, no, not Dover although it can seem like that most of the time! It's the whole escape and not knowing who I
Freezing on the escalator!Freezing on the escalator!Freezing on the escalator!

London tube, you've got to love it!
will meet, what I will do, if I will cope, how I will deal with missing those closest to me, and ultimately - whether I will learn anything valuable about myself that I don't already know. It's going to be an interesting ride and even though I am pooping my pants, I am genuinely excited about what I am about to do.

The plan is to enjoy the culture of the places I visit, indulge myself in as many musical activities as possible, write a book (which will probably involve parts of this blog), and generally work out what the hell I am going to do when I come back. But, let's not think too far ahead, I have to survive Kent first, then a week in London and the big wave goodbye to my best mate - which I am sure is going to be the hardest thing I am going to have to do over the next few months so at least the worst will be over before it's even started!😊

So for now, sit tight, enjoy the ride I'm about to take you all on and try not to be envious - there's probably not
Drunken Table FootballDrunken Table FootballDrunken Table Football

Told you Dover was exciting!
a lot stopping you from doing something similar. Anything and everything is possible these days so grab it with both hands while you can!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Dover seafront on a sunny dayDover seafront on a sunny day
Dover seafront on a sunny day

Not much to entertain on this seafront but when the weather is nice it's a pleasant walk!
Dover Ferry Terminal!Dover Ferry Terminal!
Dover Ferry Terminal!

Just to the left - isn't it pretty?


27th December 2007

Good luck
Greetings from Spike (Mr Gigger). I've added your blog site to my list of favourites so I'll hopefully be able to follow your progress. Best of luck with everything and I genuinely hope all goes well for you. Don't forget, as long as you have internet access you're not alone. Be strong. Spike Stephens.
19th January 2008

pictures please!
I know it's only been 48 hours of confusion and adjustment but pictures please as soon as possible! love you lots.xxx

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb