Farewell London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Camden Town
January 16th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Where am I?Where am I?Where am I?

Camden Town!
I've been in London for a week after three weeks of being away from it. I have to say that coming back to it has made me realise that I am leaving at the right time. I feel very little for London these days; it's expensive, noisy, polluted, and I always seem to have allergies when I am here! This blog features pictures from my lunch out with the boys and a couple of touristy shots from the only place in London that I enjoy from time to time - although there seems to be a serious lack of music shops for such a musically inspired part of London!

It's been weird spending the last seven days trying to enjoy myself whilst at the same time panicking every night about the long haul and travelling in Thailand on my own. I have been assured by many people that I will be fine but I guess that doesn't allay the initial panic of "what the hell am I doing" syndrome. There is still so much stuff I haven't done, and still need to buy little essentials that somehow have slipped my mind all week. It has been quite difficult to keep
Lovin the EscalatorLovin the EscalatorLovin the Escalator

They all look the same!
focussed on this part of my trip when I have no idea what I am going to experience when I arrive in Thailand. Passed my first two nights in Bangkok I have no idea what I will be doing, although, at the moment it looks like I will be going to Ko Samet as it isn't too far from Bangkok but far enough to be considered away from the noise and pollution! I still need to book a hostel for my arrival in Auckland so that I know it's all sorted. Flippin 'eck, I didn't think I would still be organising things this late in the game but I am still fumbling my way through this on my own.

Apart from a few drinks in Dover I have not had a leaving party and, to be honest, I'm not that bothered about that as I am sure there will be plenty of times for celebrations over the coming months. So, today I met up with some old work mates for lunch and had a decidedly shitty lunch (food-wise, not company!) in Wetherspoons (aka Dirty Spoons) in Holborn. Honestly, what they served was called a Ciabatta Club which consisted of
Camden High StreetCamden High StreetCamden High Street

It's dirty, it's smelly, it hasn't changed in years, it's Camden!
a couple of slices of Tomato with some cold Bacon, processed Chicken and a pissy little salad on the side, but something tells me that this is not going to be the worst thing I eat over the next few weeks! Mind you, nothing could be worse than their chips with cheese could it???? 😱

Anyway, the next blog I post will no doubt feature my time in Thailand - hopefully I will be able to find an internet cafe with a usb port on show!

So fingers crossed, hope for a good flight and pray that I don't get food poisoning in my first 24 hours!😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Same old CamdenSame old Camden
Same old Camden

It will probably never change!
Tourists!Tourists!
Tourists!

A couple of tourists who didn't want to be photographed. They can usually be found playing Call of Duty 4 apparently.
Attacking the touristAttacking the tourist
Attacking the tourist

Here I am attempting to force this tourist to have a photo taken. I know him.... really!!


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb