Day 10: Kendal to Manchester


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Manchester
September 10th 2017
Published: September 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I woke up from my top bunk on the top floor (attic) of the Kendal hostel. I stripped the bedding for depositing in the communal laundry hamper (I'm getting the hang of hostel etiquette). I tried being quiet, so as not to disturb the other 12 bunkies, as I was the only one stirring. Most had a late night in the local pubs and taverns, so there was not much other stirring going on. Some did deserved to be awakened.

£2 deposited in the honesty piggy bank got me a cereal, toast, yogurt, juice and coffee breakfast. The hostel matron (talkative and friendly), while preparing breakfast for an acting/arts group, also made me a much appreciated bacon and egg sandwich, plus a bonus banana smoothie/shake (a really good banana smoothie/shake).

Outside the window was the usual,...intermittent teeming rain with offers of more to come. After yesterday's ride, I didn't think I had it in me to ride the hills and, also, endure the rain for 100km. I was thinking of a layover day, but then I would be a day and a half behind. It's not a race, I thought, and I can do a few extra victory laps at the end to make up for the shortfall

Conceding I would not, technically, be doing the whole route, I dressed up for rain and cycled over to the train station to book my tickets. Once at the station, I got my ticket, but I would have to wait for the train to arrive to see if space was available for the bike. If not, then I would have to wait for the next train and try again, and so forth. For bike reservations, you need to give 24 hours notice.

While waiting on the platform, numerous spandex sportster's arrived with their bikes. They were cycling as a group. (former university rugby team player) and were all heading off in different directions at different times. We spent the time discussing bike related topics, and trench foot (they had spent three days doing circuits in the rain, and the evenings doing circuits in the pubs).

The train arrived, and I got on (with the bike).Lots of other damp cyclists also got on, or were on, but we negotiated the bikes together in the bike storage area.

Reminder to self: Stand back from the platform edge... The local trains stop, ...the express train shoot through like rockets.

Manchester arrived at the train doors, and I made for the exit door. An elderly gentleman requiring his friend's assistance blocked me and another cyclist from leaving. By the time my bike was off, I had to run back and toss my pannier's to the platform, as the train was itching to move on.

As the rain was now lighter, I took a brief foot tour of downtown Manchester. Rain increasing, I was off to find the B & B I had booked earlier.

A nice main floor bedroom greeted me along with use of the usual (kitchen, bathroom, living room). The owner, self employed, greeted me warmly and was then off to work. As with some B & B's, the rooms were used for guests and the owner's lived between the different houses or separately.

A walk about of the neighbourhood, more rain, a drop in at a cafe/pub for my evening pie and ale and I was back to the B & B for blogging maintenance and bed.

I would have to think of what tomorrow would bring, as rain was the continued theme for the weather forecast, with the potential for some sun/scattered showers further south.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb