Day 9: East Kilbride to Kendal


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Kendal
September 9th 2017
Published: September 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I started my morning in light rain, although the sun did peek out on occasion, and then some scattered clouds promised a brighter (possibly drier day). Eventually that promise was kept.

Great ride between narrow hedge rows and rock fence bordered roadways. Good views, but only visible on hilltops and at farm gates because of the hedge heights. Stopped for lunch at Abington, which is where i would have started my day, if I was on schedule.

Further on, a gentleman, out for his afternoon ride, pulled up beside me and kept pace for a few kilometers. Again, it was good for my pace and we dicussed things Canadian and other cycle trekkers he had come across. At his turn off, he directed me to a good pub stop in Skelton, the next town ahead.

In discussion with cyclists in the pub, one checked his watch and looked concerned when I mentioned today's destination.
I finish my beer and I pushed on to Kendal.

The ride was one of the most picturesque I had done so far, but the hills got into lots of steep, short, climbs. As the afternoon progressed, I started to worry about time. 50 km to go turned to 30, then to 15 km, so I was feeling good as 6pm was approaching. Then on one steep incline, I blew my shifting and snapped my chain.

Worried... Yes, but after fumbling with the chain I found it was the quick link and l was, luckily, able to rreplace and repair it. I ventured on very cautiously up the remainder of the hills.

The countryisde turned to spectacular dales, rolling up and down, with impressive vistas. A long climb to the final crest (I thought) and what a view I had.

After starting a long roll down, I thought I could enjoy a steady descent into Kendal Not so, as the hills became numerous and pocked with steep grades.

An older rider, out for his daily loop in the hills, questioned my direction, and pointed to where Kendal should be. He moved on. At this point, I question my GPS data. Fortunately, I found a roadside route marker and while it didn't make the hills any easier, I at least knew my meandering route was right.

With the sun going down, I strapped on my light and finally rolled into Kendal. A few misdirected turns, and then I found my hostel, which was locked. Luckily, a Faggan like character (hostel inhabitant) was in the sitting room and let me in, gave me the run down on hostel protocol and the Kendal hotspots.

As it was too late for a pub meal, I ventured to Tesco for meal fixings and settled in for the evening.

Advertisement



13th September 2017

My morning
Nice line about the Morning, that's a Schedule very good starts a morning. Very nice pics i like it .

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb