Chester to Manchester


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 53.4807, -2.23451

Chester to Manchester

On the way to Manchester we passed the turn off and signs for Liverpool. Oh, to be so close and yet so far from the Beatles!!! Dylan had been playing music for each country that we have visited and Wales was no different. However, after turning of towards Manchester, he put in a CD of Male Welsh Choir singers. The first song was Beatles “Yesterday.“ It wouldn't have been too bad listening to it, but Cherry on my right began to quietly sing along and then the elderly lady on the right of me began to do the same! Oh my god!!! I thought ‘kill me now'!!! After that song ended the choir began to sing a gospel, and once again those two began to sing quietly again!!!! After a few more seconds of this, I got up and went to the back of the bus!!! Some of those in the back wanted to know what had happened, so I told them that I didn't want to ruin the fun those two were having singing along with the music so I moved. After we got to hotel in Manchester and were waiting for the elevator, the older lady said something snippy (She's one of those ladies that makes a snippy remark about everyone) about why don't I just sit in the back all the time and then I would get better pictures. I told her that it wasn't about the pictures, but more about not wanting to stop her and Cherry from having a good time with their singing. She said that she had the right to have fun and sing if she wanted too. I said, “Yes you do, but since it would have been rude to tell you to be quiet so that I could enjoy the music, I moved my seat.” I then left her standing there and got into the elevator to my room. The hotel, Park Inn, is on the edge of the city center and a very dodgy part of town. One side of the hotel faces the new apartments of city center and my side faces the shady area. We are not within walking distance of the main shops (which are closed anyway….most shops in the UK and Ireland close up by 6 p.m.) and restaurants. The rooms are very modern and stylish. So, after the buffet style dinner (had a salad, beef and potatoes stew, and a part of a carrot cake), I headed up to my room. I unpacked everything and places the postcards and souvenirs that I have bought so far since Inverness in my suitcase. When I get to London, I'll repack most of the souvenirs in a duffle bag for the trip back to the states and use it as a carryon luggage. I watched TV and then went to bed about 11.

 


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb