Tour de Football II (Ian & Hamish)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Manchester
October 27th 2011
Published: November 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I had intended on catching Bury FC, a League 1 team (English 3rd division), playing at home against Notts County. Unfortunately I got the date wrong as the fixture list was in Australian EST not UK GMT. My back-up was a League Cup game the next night, perhaps Stoke v Liverpool. I decided to pass on this game as a greater opportunity presented itself - South Hobart v Stockport County (under 14s).

I will now let Hamish provide a brief on his experience with the Manchester United Soccer School... (Ian)

It was a tough game, we lost 3-1 but I think we played better as a team then the opposition. The opposition was arguing through the game and we kept cool and proceeded with the loss. Personally I think I played a 4/10 because I thought 45% of my passes were off target or just sloppy. But all the other things that I did were good or great. Overall a good day and a good game.

Over the past 10 days, I have played 3 games. The first game was 14-0 our way. It wasn't that tough but our coaches did not like they way we played. We played sloppy and most of the game we where too rushed. The next game was a 5-3 win our way. We played much better than the other game but not as good as we wanted to play. During the 10 days we trained everyday and learnt new drills and ideas to take home. A professional coach from the Manchester United Soccer School took us everyday to train and took charge of our games. His focus was less on the match result but more on improving the players' performance. In his assessment of my approach to the game was that I had srong vision and understanding of the game and had room for improvement on my physical strength and speed over short distances.

We also got to go around town and shop a bit. We got lots of things and everyone was happy. I got some stuff that I thought was good for europe. Overall the trip was great and I hope to do that again sometime.

Hamish

Advertisement



7th November 2011

group comment
hey guys, it's Ben and Cormac. Go manchester united! From the both of us. Hope ur havin a good time! cya when u get back. from Ben and Cormac

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb