Touring Manchester and visiting Greg!


Advertisement
Published: August 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Funny goldsmiths!Funny goldsmiths!Funny goldsmiths!

The sign says that all rings are sold soley by weight and there is a tiny plaque that states that times have changed and that's not how the prices are set!
Hey everybody!

Well, yesterday I went to Manchester really early in the AM. I met Greg, my old roommate from Vernon. I used to rent a room at his house and he's recently moved to Manchester for a period of time to work. One of his other friends from Vernon came along as well, he'd just arrived off a flight at 7am! So, it was a bit of a tiring day but we had fun...it didn't rain all day long but Manchester is known to be quite rainy. At the train station there was a constant "reminder" to watch your step as the weather conditions aren't good/slippery, use an umbrella, etc. Lol, funny for a litle while and then it was annoying. So, we walked around the town taking in a bunch of the sites - statues of famous people and such. We hit Primark and I bought a new pair of cute shoes. I've become quite bad with buying neat shoes! Anyways, we went to Manchester Cathedral first (neat gothic architecture, lovely) and onto a Science and Industry Museum which was cool, the best part was the textile section where I learned about different fabrics, etc. We went to Castlefield which had a cool looking canal, watched a small boat go through and waited to see the lock fill up again. I got to learn something new at that point as I didn't realize the use of a lock, etc. So, the boys explained all the information for me. Basically, there is a natural water push towards a larger canal so they make a section deeper and restrict water levels so boats can travel both up and down the "canal". I am not writing this very accurately Neat. We had a dinner out at one of the popular, well known pubs that are in nearly every city, Wetherspoons. To be honest, there wasn't loads to see and do in the time I visited but we did loads of walking and visited. It was a nice day out, now I'm off to do my Sunday.

Hugs, Chloe


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb