Blenheim Palace & Cotswolds


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody!

Well, SUnday - July 25, I got up really early and headed by tube to London Victoria coach station. I didn't know that the Victoria line doesn't run Sundays so it was a bit of a time scare but I managed to get there right where I needed to be exactly when the tour was scheduled to depart! Close calls these days! Anyhow, we started a driving journey of about 2 hours to Blenheim Palace where SIr Winston Churchill was born. The 11th Duke of Marlborough now lives there in a section of the Palace. I got a tour around the bottom part of the palace that had a history museum and showed some of the classical state rooms, outfits, etc. I couldn't take any pictures in there but it was neat. I discovered that Winston Churchill was actually quite an artist, designed several cards for Hallmark when the company first started! There were loads of cards he had created. I went into the small chapel at the side of the palace which had interesting art sculptures and a neat ceiling. After checking out the inside of the palace, I walked around the gardens outside of it. There were so many water fountains and beautiful flowers! It was a wonderful view from every angle...

We left the Palace to discover Burford, a small village in the Cotswolds about 1 hour away. I didn't have lunch at the reserved pub which allowed me more time to see the town, visited St. John the Baptist Church and went to an antique/craft fair. It was a cute little town but really, not much to do there. We moved along to Bourton-on-the-Water which my favorite. It's nickname is Venice of the Cotswolds because it looks like Venice. It was super sweet, little river through the town, musicians playing in the grass nearby, tiny shops filled with yummy and interesting goods...loved it. The people were once again very friendly and I loved that! It reminded me of the good old days being a country gal back in BC, can hardly wait to be home and relive it. London can be such a big city and nobody really talks to a stranger, you just bump into people everywhere because there are so many people anywhere you go. Anyways, I bought some goodies to bring back home and got some pictures of the town before we moved for a very short visit to Stow on the Wold. It was cute too, neat buildings and then we headed back through the countryside to London. A great day out and went to church in the PM, met up with a couple of my friends there and came home for bed!

So, that was my Sunday. Picturesque and wonderful. Hugs, Chloe


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bourton on the WaterBourton on the Water
Bourton on the Water

Venice of the Cotswolds
BurfordBurford
Burford

I loved this little spot, thought it was really unique!
Thatched cottagesThatched cottages
Thatched cottages

I saw lots of them but couldn't get great pics, this one turned out okay.


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb