France with my aupair family - sorry if this update is really random!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Rouen
August 12th 2009
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody!

Well, I just wanted to update a bit, unfortunately cannot post pictures on this entry but I will try on another computer at some point!

So, we left London early on Saturday morning, Aug.8. We arrived in France via the Eurotunnel quite quickly, spent most of our first day travelling. We made a brief stopover on Saturday in Iepres, Belgium to see the Menen/Menin Gate. It is a war memorial site for the soldiers who were lost/unable to be identified for WW1. It was very interesting and I even found a Lenz from Canada. Originally my family name was Lenz but after several years in Canada, became Lentz. So, I am not sure if it was a family member or not but I found it interesting anyhow! We have stayed in Bed and Breakfast spots along our journey through Rouen, Caen, Saint Germer De Fly and another country village. We were staying in Bordeaux, wine country yesterday. We visited Rouen Cathedral and had a visit to the big war museum in Caen. I have been pretty sad with my history but it is soo interesting when you are actually in these places. So, I am learning! Caen was lovely, saw the castle and cathedral that William the Conqueror built for his one true love Matilda...some history from Lynne. It has been neat staying in all of these spots, we arrive late in the day after doing a few things in the town or whatever, then leave around 11 to go to another place. We've visited Juno Beach (Canadian landing for DDay, June 6 1944) and Omaha Beach where the Americans fought. We went to the American cemetary which had plots and plots of white crosses for all the soldiers that died. There were a few Canadians buried there that were marked by a flag. One thing I found strange was that neither of the beaches really had history posts there, apparently the visitors are expected to know the history and that's why they are there! So, I asked the war guru Dave, my aupair dad a few things. Umm, the food here is interesting, some good and some strange but I'm doing alright, most of the time there is plenty of french bread!! The nicest place we stayed was in Rouen (so far), Victorian themed place, beautiful. I scored a massive suite as Rhiannon decided to sleep in Dave and Lynne's room. I got a wonderful jet shower and bathtub as well as a queen bed! I haven't had a bed bigger than a single for the last year so it was sweet to say the least. I've seen loads of stuff, learned how to speak a bit of French (can read it generally but not pronounce) and also learned to go with the flow, see where we end up! I don't really know the plans until they are about to happen. We are currently in a small village Septfonds with Lynne's friend Emma. She loves horseriding so we (Alex, Emma and I) are planning to go tomorrow morning! yay. i am hoping it will go well as the adult saddles don't have the horn! I am used to riding with a horn saddle, apparently I can get one but they are for beginner riders here. I am not sure if I want that label! At the same time, it might be better than injuring myself before i get home. I will see tomorrow!! We are staying here and leaving Fri AM at some point to head to Barcelona. We stay in a posh hotel for the night and move along to Pals for 1 week of sun in Spain before returning home to London. I will try to update with some pics and stories as time goes on. Miss you, see everyone at home soon...arriving back late Aug. 24! You can phone me anytime on the 25th and onwards... hugs, Chloe

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb