Better Job Prospects!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Manchester
October 1st 2005
Published: October 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

To Be... or not to be a rockstar? :PTo Be... or not to be a rockstar? :PTo Be... or not to be a rockstar? :P

sorry about putting up an old photo- i just thought i'd make this place look a little more colourful... (yeah... with a black and white photo... good one chaz..)
Um... how to put this...?


...I've been offered a record deal in London. :P After playing one song on Lila (my only original song with words!) at an open mic in front of industy professionals, I was approached by a guy called Mike Dixon who manages bands like Ron Sexsmith and The Spinto Band (whoever those people are! 😊- actually i've hear of the sexsmith guy, he's pretty big) and he just started raving about my song and how he'd like me to come and hang out in London to so some recording! I told him about Double Entendre and how I was actually better at playing the drums than the ukulele and was looking to get back together with Ash and he pretty much said 'no worries, get a band together and send me a demo so we can do some recording/get gigs/release an album...yadayadayada!'


It was all a bit overwhelming, so I went over to Cole Bishop -who just happened to be sitting over in the corner with Em Dee- and asked him what he though about it. Turns out he knows the guy and reckons that he's a really nice chap and to take him up on the offer! Cole Bishop is the bloke who manages a whole load of bands including Em Dee, Ash Grunwald (i think) and The Bondi Cigars and he actually remembered me from a photo in the Double Entendre demo CD I sent him leading up to our tour (that never happened) with Em-Dee!


Yeah... it has been an interesting day! I caught up with Lukas and Mark of EmDee at the open mic (they were going to get up and do something too!) and they agreed with me that I was now officially their number 1 fan- what with following them halfway around the world and all :P. I'm going to catch up with them later tonight and maybe go have a beer and see some music or something. Fun Fun!


So what does everyone reckon then? What should I do? I'm still off to Edinburgh on Monday (thanks Alaya!!!) but I'm seriously considering doing a trip to London again to visit this guy- even if it's just so that he remembers my face! And Lila's 😊


weeeeeeeeeeee!

Advertisement



2nd October 2005

GO MATEY GO MATEY GO GO GO! GET SMART! GET INFAMOUS!
2nd October 2005

Long way to bring food
Hi Charlie, Sounds real good thing, if you and Ash put a band together, and do some more gigs and release an album, will we still have to bring food and sustenance, like the early days at MoJo's. Should I give up work so that Sue and I can be roadies ( I can do the sound checks as I have a degree and can count to two(one two, one two check)), and Megan will be a groupie
2nd October 2005

hey
Charlie thats really awsome.. you should do it... congratulations :D
2nd October 2005

Hmmmm!
Well you should keep writing songs anyway no matter what you're doing travelwise. Have you got a double entendre demo on you or do you need one sent on. It would be great for you to get some recording done especially if you can get Ash in on it and /or write some more originals. Still Edinborough tomorrow then? There may be opportunities there as well. Did you get the guy's email or contact details? just to keep in touch or to arrange something for when you've got the fare and a spot of spare cash. If you go tripping off to London, make sure it's not just so he remembers your face but rather have it arranged to put down some tracks and do some creative work otherwise it's a very costly P R visit. I'm sure if you contact him and explain the situation he'll work out something with you. Go for it buddy , but plan it out and discuss it with Ash and Alaya first. Unreal !!
3rd October 2005

Do you do requests??
I'd like to hear Bumble Bee on the uke! Great hearing your voice the other day. Sorry it was so early for you... It must be my bad maths skills.... Stay safe. Have fun. Give Lila a 'snog' for me.
3rd October 2005

yay!
wow charlie that is so awesome, do u think this means there may be a new begginnig for double entendre? that job prospect is A LOT better than the nudie houseboy one heehee. anyway good luck and DEFINATLY go for it this is an oppertunity not to e missed! love you and miss you heaps. have fun! Lex

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0881s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb