catch up on the past few day


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

backyardbackyardbackyard

our little backyard
Thursday I went to my new local supermarket (yeah sad I know but I love food shopping!) and its a huge 24hr ASDA. I could have spent all day looking at all the new food items.

Freaky thing happened to me on the way to the shops, was on the footpath and literally5 meters from me two cars crashed into each other. I don't think I've ever been that close to a car accident before (well accept when I was in a car accident a several years back). It was such a shock I didn't even move, luckily the car didn't crash into the footpath (there was a mum and baby in pram next to me as well which added to the drama). Heaps of debris/dust flew up in the air and almost blinded me. Luckily no one was hurt, just scared the hell out of us all.

Friday things got serious and I signed up with a temp agency, had to have an interview and typing test. Thought it best that I present well so had a haircut and shaved the beard off. 4 weeks to the day since leaving Mallesons and I was back in suit
local publocal publocal pub

i think this is my local pub - not that i have any great desire to go there, strange shaped buildng too, oh and this was taken 15 seconds before the car crash
and tie, not the way things were meant to happen! Sadly temp retail work is pretty scarce at the moment so it will be office work for now (of which there is heaps going). Still it will mean much needed money and it will be interesting working in different offices and a variety of industries.

Friday night I went and caught a band called ‘of montreal’. Support was a band called Dufus who were seriously crazy, I can’t even begin to describe their ‘music’ but there was lots of random yelpings into the microphone. Strangely they were quite enjoyable, I just had bugger all idea what was happening.

Of montreal were great, a bit weird for a band that whose latest album makes the Scissor Sisters sound butch (check out the raggedy andy outfit on the lead singer), the crowd were pretty mental and I was next to a few psychos intent on moshing along.

Got chatting to a guy and girl who were in town from Liverpool. After chatting a while I found out they were in a band and look at touring the UK and USA soon (I could have met someone pre-famous!)

Woke
interesting apartmentsinteresting apartmentsinteresting apartments

manchster is full of apartments, there is so much building going on its amazing, most of the new apartments are well designed and visually interesting, these apartments are nothing flash but they caught my eye on the way to ASDA
up Saturday to some glorious weather, actual proper blue skies and warm sun. Had my breakfast in our little garden and read/snoozed for a bit. It was quite warm and very lovely.

With the nice weather I headed into town to take some pics.

I hope its raining back home, just to make me feel better for the crap weather we’ve been having.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

hiltonhilton
hilton

this is the hilton manchester, i think its the tallest building in the city by far. it dont look so bad from this angle, but side on its dead ugly, it just doesnt suit the rest of the skyline
librarylibrary
library

manchester city library, nice old building
some statuesome statue
some statue

no idea what its of
another statueanother statue
another statue

im sue he's some famous old dude that did something good, probably a king (if i did the whole tourist thing and read the enscription i might know who he is)
M&SM&S
M&S

one for kel, Marks & Spencer in the city, i love M&S food hall
Harvey NicholsHarvey Nichols
Harvey Nichols

another one for kel, i think its too expensive for me even to enter the store, but i do love the pink ducky
SelfridgesSelfridges
Selfridges

another posh store
Ferris WheelFerris Wheel
Ferris Wheel

this ferris wheel has returned to the city centre, its not as big as he london eye but its also not as pointless as the eye either
Urbis galleryUrbis gallery
Urbis gallery

i love this building and its exhibitions
of montrealof montreal
of montreal

seriously bad outfits
of montrealof montreal
of montreal

interesting back drop which was also hiding the drummer for artistic effect i think, might have been better if the whole band was behind the white sheet


3rd June 2007

Hey Pete, glad to hear you've found an apartment, and all the bands sound amazing!! Hope the housemates work out well ... let me know if you need any tips on sharing!

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb