Renovations as far as the eye can see...


Advertisement
Published: March 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thats the best way to describe Manchester.. Renovations as far as the eye can see.. Everywhere you go, the whole city is being renovation! Makes it look very messy and then throw in the weather, makes it look very miserable.. Was rather disappointed today when I went to visit the Urbis, which is a wiked looking building, its shaped in a triangle and made entirely out of glass, took photos and will post them as soon as possible... Anyway point of the story, I went to visit this today because my travel books tell me it has a very cool museum instead dedicated to showing the differences and turmoils between the different classes of people here in England which I thought would be really interesting, only to find that.. you guessed it.. Its being renovated! The only thing left in the entire place to see was like a photo gallery of something to do with Japan, shows how much I paid attention to it hey.. But yes rather disappointed in that..

Also went and visited the Peoples History Muesum today, was more impressed I managed to find it more than anything amongst all the RENOVATIONS! Seriously, couldnt they just renovate one part of the city at a time rather than doing the WHOLE city at one time.. ARGH all the hammering has been giving me a headache.. Something about this city, have had a permanent headache the whole time I've been here.. Not good, not good at all..

Aprt from that also today went to the main shopping area in Manchester, the Manchester Arndale (???) quick good, quick busy, gotta stay away from shopping areas cos I just wanna buy things and have no room or weight left available in my suitcase 😞 Its been ok so far cos I've just been travelling on trains which dont have a weight limit on suitcases but I gotta get on a plane in about 2 weeks time.. That will be interesting indeed..

Made the mistake today of going into a bookshop, big mistake to start with, me in a bookshop, my second weakness only to jewellery when it comes to buying things.. Anyway I was in the travel section as I usually am and found a book on hostels in Ireland, I'm staying in three hostels in Ireland so thought I'd look them up.. Anyway my hostels in Galway and Kilarney werent even in this book which is a bit of a worry to start with and my one in Dublin didnt exactly get the greatest reviews, the most worrying being that the location was abit dodge and to take greater care at night.. I suppose you could say that you have to take greater care at night anywhere you go, and I would actually say that my hotel here in Manchester is a perfect example of that (doesnt seem to be the greatest area) but despite this its still abit of a worry.. Im spending my nights here in Manchester in my room watching TV, and even then its probably still the time where I get the most loneliest because everyone back home is fast asleep so no msgs coming through on my phone and Im all alone.. Awww :''( hehe.. Hostels dont have Tv's in the rooms so could be very interesting indeed, having said that though, they do have common rooms which I'll be able to get out and meet new people in hopefully..

Thought of the day: When you're all alone with nothing but your thoughts, these can either comfort or destroy..
But always keep things in perspective (thanks brad hehe)

Advertisement



24th March 2007

bookshop
you can read??? your not flying ryanair are you? cos you are limited to 15kg only and theyre very VERY picky about it when it comes down to it there's always two ways to look at something..choose the positive!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb