Wine Tasting


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Manchester
January 25th 2007
Published: January 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The 3 Wine-ke-teersThe 3 Wine-ke-teersThe 3 Wine-ke-teers

Looking to learn everything about wine!
With possible plans to carry out wine tasting in Australia, I thought I'd better learn some basics before I went into some Vineyards! I'd, of course, already had great educational value at the wine tasting in Les Arcs, but there looked to be some great opportunities in Manchester, which also gave an opportunity to spend the evening with friends!

We tried for Harvey Nichols, but it was full, Evuna was too late, and then Emma mentioned Room's wine club. £30 for food and 6 tastes of wine didn't seem bad, so Emma, Jonny & myself all signed up. Everyone else was too skint (but after we told them our experience are looking to sign up for future events).

Word of advice, probably best NOT to go for a couple of glasses of wine in other bars beforehand! Just look at the size of those wine glasses - we got 3 whites, 3 reds - all pretty high quality from the Boland vineyards. I think most other tables really knew what they were doing, but we were on a table with 2 other groups who also had never been to any such event.

Following canapes (with wine!), the vineyard
Lovely food...Lovely food...Lovely food...

but not a lot of it!
representatives introduced the wines and the pairings to the food, with quite a lot of detail, but I think I needed a little more of a basic introduction to wine tasting (along the lines of this or this), but maybe I'll have taken a little more of this on board next time. It was a great event, great food (v. tasty!) - again, great company. I don't think I learnt a lot, but I enjoyed myself!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The wineThe wine
The wine

Quite a lot of it!
Instructing us...Instructing us...
Instructing us...

I think... the evening was all about South African wines


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb