Paris to Calais to Dover to London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 27th 2017
Published: August 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Paris to Calais to Dover to London


Paris to London



I woke up early on my last day of my trip in Europe. I was not surprised to see if you people up early at breakfast. After eating breakfast I made one last trip to the bridge over the Seine River. I had hoped to get a good sunrise picture of the Eiffel tower but unfortunately the sun wasn't helping my hiding behind the clouds. I did get to watch a ship dock that was a floating hotel for a cruise line. Some of the people in their cabins had the windows open and we're getting dressed even though you could see into their cabins.





Not everyone got back on the bus this time. Robin and Patricia Poole as well as Mick and Kylie Bridge were taking the EuroStar back to London. Dana and Brian were staying a few more days in Paris before continuing on their journey. I'm not sure what plans Marjorie and Irene had but they were not there to see us off. So after some sad farewells, we boarded the bus. We headed for the Charles de Gaulle airport to drop off Chase and his grandmother Anne as well as Linda and her daughter Katie. After leaving the airport it took about 2 1/2 hours to get to Calais. We didn't make any rest stops so we stopped right after getting into the port area to make our restroom break before going into security checks. Everyone made it through the security check pretty quickly except for Cameron and Charne Pitman. They got question pretty thoroughly mainly because they were from South Africa. They took so long that even Scott went back to check up on to see what the holdup was. After hanging around outside the bus posing for pictures with Luigi and Scott it was time for us to board the ferry to Dover. We all hugged Luigi goodbye and wish him well in his life as he headed back to Florence to pick up a new group of travelers.





We 10 who were left along with Scott traveled on the same ferry company, P&O, that we travel time we first started our trip. This time around we had clear skies all the way to Dover. We took over a small section by the windows just for ourselves. I immediately went to go change all my euros to pounds. I was even able to get some pounds for the Florins that I still had left over. Some of the group went to explore to look for some food. It's a nice ferry boat with lots of amenities. Cameron, Charne, and I decided to go look for some food at the restaurant. However we ended up at the fine dining restaurant who then told us how to get to the self-serve restaurant. I ended up getting a vegetable lasagna with french fries. The other two ordered hamburgers which would take quite a few minutes to make so I went to sit down at a table to eat. The lasagna was quite good as were the french fries. When I gazed out the front window, I couldn't believe we could see the white cliffs of Dover already in the distance. It was amazing how fast we were traveling. It did not seem like we have been on the boat already an hour. I quickly finished eating and then went outside to take some pictures. I went back inside for a short time where the rest of the group we're waiting, but I got restless so I went back outside to the back of the boat. There I found people feeding the seagulls who are flying right over our heads. It was amazing to see all those birds just hanging in the wind like they were tied to strings. People were throwing pieces of crackers and bread up and the air. The birds were able to snatch the pieces in mid air. The deck cleared of most of the people when the captain told us it was time to start heading down to our cars and buses. Myself and another couple stayed to take more pictures. I was able to get a video of myself eating one of the birds from my hand.





After walking along way to get off the ship, we then waited where our bags were waiting for us. The weather was cool and cloudy so I was glad that I had my jacket. Unfortunately our bus was not waiting for us. Later on we found out that the group of American teenagers were late getting to their bus from the airport which made the bus late getting to us. After waiting about 30 to 45 minutes we are able to board the new bus and head to London. As we traveled there we went past the national Maritime Museum in Greenwich park where the Royal Observatory is located as well as the Prime Meridian line. It was one of the locations I had wanted to visit but didn't have time. I was tempted to have them let me off when we came really close to where my new hotel was but since I want to shop at Evans, I didn't say anything. We stopped at the Trafalgar information center to drop off a few more people including our tour director Scott. He had to get to the airport so that he can get back home in the Netherlands for a short visit before he heads off for another tour. We said goodbye to Susan and Ali and Fahi. Now we were down to seven as we continued on to the Cumberland hotel. Soon it began to downpour as we crossed over the Thames River. The rain stopped for short time as we unloaded the bus. Melanie and Zoe were heading off to another hotel, while Ann and Howard and Cameron and Charne were staying at the Cumberland. Mick and Kylie and Robin and Patricia were also staying there but had arrived already earlier than we did since they rode on the Eurostar. After saying goodbye to Melanie and Zoe, the five of us went inside. After being declined when I asked the hotel to watch my luggage while I ran across the street to do some shopping, Ann and Howard offered their room as a place to put my luggage. So after following them upstairs and dropping off my luggage I hastily went shopping at Evans. 45 minutes later I was back showing them my clothes that I had bought. Knowing that they had to go to bed soon because they had an early flight to Ireland as well as not wanting to linger over sad farewells, I tried to give them £40 to treat them to a nice dinner. They wouldn't take it. Howard said goodbye from the room as Ann helped me with one of the suitcases to the elevator. Ann and I hugged each other repeatedly and tried not to cry. Then we heard Howard coming down the hallway, so I held the elevator open as I did some more quick selfie's of the three of us. Finally it was time to go. Of all the people on the trip it was the hardest to say goodbye to these two. They are a super sweet couple and we're wonderful traveling companions.





I got down to the lobby where the hotel's doorman got a taxi for me. The cab took me to the Comfort Inn by Victoria Station. The driver gave me his card when I asked about the cost of getting a cab ride from my hotel to the Heathrow. He wanted £50 which was a lot cheaper than what I had seen quoted online at a £100. After checking in at the hotel I asked the front desk about arranging transportation to Heathrow. They had a cab service that was only £45. So I had the desk clerk set up an appointment for 3 AM says my plane leaves at 7 AM. I then went to my room. I keep forgetting that they like to put single travelers in the tiniest rooms possible and like they do in hotels in America where all the rooms are pretty much the same size. My room was very narrow but serviceable. I had no view since my window looked out at a brick wall and at the window for the room next door.





I had tentatively planned to meet up with Cameron and Charne. Unfortunately through miscommunication we missed saying goodbye to each other and making definite plans on eating out together. So instead I went to the front desk and asked for a good pizza place to order from. I ended up having a really good barbecue chicken pizza and a Caprese salad for the night. I had also ordered a chocolate cake slice but it wasn't that great. After watching some TV I finally went to bed.





My 30 day trip to Europe has finally ended and I was back on doing everything myself. It was a wonderful trip and it's hard to believe that it's over when I was looking so forward to it for so many years. My mind is still processing all the things I have seen and done while over there. But I was thankful that we had such a small group that I got to know so many people very well.
Paris (9)Paris (9)Paris (9)

Sad goodbyes to some very fine people
Some so well that I cannot wait to save up enough money to go visit them in their own countries. I also hope that they will have some time to come over to America and visit me. If not, we can keep in contact through Facebook.


Additional photos below
Photos: 128, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0878s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb