London day 2


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 30th 2017
Published: July 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

After an interesting sleep (for some reason we had a double rather than twin room and my friend is clearly a wriggler), we had breakfast at the hotel, which had plenty of vegan options including the all-important beans on toast. Then off to South Kensington to the V&A. We had fun attempting to try on corsets and crinolines and getting told off for taking photos of the jewellery. A spot of lunch in the museum and a trip to the shop later, we wandered over to Waitrose at Gloucester Road so my friend could buy some English delicacies. Then, after a quick stroll around the outskirts of one of London's many private gardens and being staggered by apartment prices in the area (all over a million pounds), it was time to say our goodbyes. I then went in search of wifi, which has so far been elusive.

The only place that had it without loads of form-filling nonsense was Starbucks, so I sat there for a while, reluctantly. Thought I'd visit the Natural History Museum (queue too long) or the Science Museum's robot exhibition (I don't like robots enough to pay 15 quid) but instead I headed back to pick up my bag from the hotel and buy some food for the journey. The Northern Line to Euston was horrifically crowded as usual but me and my bags squeezed both on and off and made it in time onto the train to Liverpool. And I couldn't believe how long it was. Two sets, at least ten carriages in total, and I was of course in the farthest away. And it sped through central England at a crazy pace. London to Liverpool in two hours and fifteen minutes on Branson's locomotive. Found my way to the hotel, passing the local Sunday night nightlife, more hoops to jump through before wifi was achieved. Why must it all be so complicated?


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb