Yeseeesss Yeeesss! We have made it to T5!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 26th 2014
Published: June 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.4709, -0.486474

I feel like a pit pony just released from a Welsh Coal Mine in 1935 after 3 months underground with no more than a nose bag of hay and the odd carrot for solace. Its been a tough 3 months mostly spent keeping my elderly mother on the straight and narrow after a fall at Christmas which created shockwaves around the world and a few early retirements for staff at Epsom Hospital due to PTSD.......

Approaching T5 with "reverential awe" I noticed that things had moved on in the airport world since my last proper venture into the Temple of Travel. Tootling up to the fast bag drop like the seasoned traveller I am, I at once proceeded to spray myself with fizzy water at the same time fumbling my iPhone in an excited attempt to get my boarding pass onto the home screen. Slightly back footed I then strolled off in the wrong direction with my trolley not realising that you now walked through the check in desks......

After several more failed attempts wafting my iPhone Boarding pass at shiny new security machines and Cathy being strip searched we made it through to the fantastic departure lounge. At once an overwhelming urge to purchase exotic perfume and hideously overpriced liquers came over me. Clutching 2 litres of whisky for £20 I was again ready with my I-pass only to be thwarted at the checkout because we were "only" going as far as Amsterdam and could not benefit from Duty Free......

Sitting waiting for our gate I observe all sorts of "International Types" obviously on very important business trips. Little do they know that I work in the heady world of Chessington Warehouse space.........

Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb