Theatre Day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 19th 2017
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Westminster AbbeyWestminster AbbeyWestminster Abbey

Chris in front of the Abbey. Another blue sky day.
Geo: 51.5002, -0.126236

Today was all about the theatre, but we had some time in the morning so we hopped on the Tube to see if we could get into Westminster Abbey. Last time we were here the line was too long...and it was too cold and windy to wait in the line.

The line wasn't bad, and it moved really fast. It was another sunny day-incredible for London. About 60 degrees. It was pretty crowded inside, so we just followed the herd, and used our Rick Steve's guide to see the highlights. We hadn't been there is years and I had forgotten how beautiful is was. Marilyn - I wish you could see it, you would love it. The ceilings are impossibly high and stained glass windows are endless.

Saw lots of memorials and graves: Sir Isaac Newton and Charles Darwin. Queen Elizabeth I was impressive, in the same room with Queen Mary. We saw the Coronation Chair, but it was very protected. It wasn't that way last time we were here. This time, it was in it's own room that was roped off.You had to look at it from afar. Same with the Unknown Soldiers Tomb. It is in the middle
Westminster AbbeyWestminster AbbeyWestminster Abbey

another view
of the floor, surrounded by a frame of poppies, but roped off so you can't get too close. They talked about how Kate Middleton had to walk around it in her wedding dress because no one walks on it.

We spent some time in Poet's Corner, because it was nice to see names we recognized. Big memorial for Shakespeare, Alfred Tennyson, William Blake, Byron, many authors. There are a few dancers and actors memorialized also, like Laurence Olivier.

We hear every language being spoken. Actually, I can't tell what most of them are. And the strangest outfits. There were two older men (American) walking through Westminster and we kept running into them. One was dressed in biker S&M - black leather pants and jacket, chains hanging from the pants, studs/rivets in the jacket. When I say men, they were probably in their 40s or 50s, with beerguts and thinning hairlines to go with it.

After Westminster Abbey we headed for the theatre district to walk around. I had to be in line at 1:30 for my 2:30 matinee, because at Harry Potter they search every bag to make sure you don't have recording devices. We had plenty of time so we shopped
Big BenBig BenBig Ben

I still think of European Vacation with Chevy Chase when I see Big Ben. I see him driving endlessly in the round about, unable to exit and continuing to drive by Parliament and Big Ben. (It was on recently)
around the crazy theatre district and grabbed lunch at the crypt of St Martin of the Fields. It's a really cool church that has an awesome crypt with a cafeteria in it that is reasonably priced plus good wifi and clean WC. Another Rick Steve recommendation. I had another weird lunch. A Cumberland Sausage roll with red onion gravy and REAL mashed potatoes (my family knows how important that is). It was this thin sausage all rolled together in a spiral. It was really good, especially covered in gravy. Sorry - no picture. Not many pictures today - all about the theatre.

When I went to get in line for Harry Potter & the Cursed Child, the line was all the way around the building to the back of the theatre, even if you had your tickets. But it moved fast. I was in! Then they suckered me into buying a souvenir program. Then they suckered me into buying a souvenir package of stuff. Will take a picture tomorrow. I didn't care, I was so excited to be there. Part 1 started at 2:30 and was MAGICAL. All the actors were good and the effects were really cool. I am so
Tiny CupsTiny CupsTiny Cups

This is the size of cups they use here. Inconceivable! I put it next to Dot's small iPhone for perspective. At least they had ice.
glad a ticket came available Saturday. The website said to keep checking and that's what I did. Plus, I was able to sell my crappy last row ticket that I bought on Stubhub, so that was helpful. Was thinking of our Metro ladies today who love Harry Potter. Wish you could have been here.

In the meantime, Dot was at a matinee of Les Miserables. My part 1 let out and I met up with Dot, who was of course singing. We grabbed something to eat and wandered around, then she went back to the B&B and I went to Part 2 of the play at 7:30. It was still amazing. The Dementors were super scary and flew all around the theatre. The staging and production were really cool. For those of you who don't know, the Harry Potter play is 2 part play, so I went to Part 1 this afternoon at 2:30 and then returned to the theatre for Part 2 at 7:30 pm. Crazy, huh? A Harry Potter Extravaganza.

I managed to find my way back to the B&B by myself on the very crowded Tube. I guess most of the theatres finish around the same time.

One funny thing
PastriedPastriedPastried

Patisserie on every corner
we noticed. You know how they drive on the wrong side of the road here? They do the same thing on stairs. When you go down stairs, you stay to the left side and people coming up the stairs stay to the right. Hard to get use to, but if you don't you are constantly moving against traffic.

Tomorrow is another theatre day. We are going to a matinee of the Girls, which is a musical based on the move Calendar Girls. Should be fun. Not sure what we are doing in the morning. We'll see what tomorrow brings. Time to wind down and get some sleep!







Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Our Show TomorrowOur Show Tomorrow
Our Show Tomorrow

Tomorrow we see Girls, based on the movie, Calendar Girls.
Lord Voldemort BannerLord Voldemort Banner
Lord Voldemort Banner

The banner used for Lord Voldemort - For the Harry Potter fans.


19th April 2017

what- no free refills??
19th April 2017

One of everything please!!
20th April 2017

I need to become a relative to join you--though my own sister travels to Europe every single year for 2 weeks at a time LOL
20th April 2017

I need to become a relative to join you--though my own sister travels to Europe every single year for 2 weeks at a time LOL. You are visiting some impressive places
23rd April 2017

Those look fantastic! How could you possibly make up your mind?

Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb