Goodbye, Adios, Ciao, Tchuss......


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 22nd 2006
Published: October 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We woke up to an awful last day in London: low grey skys, a whipping wind, and sideways showers that left puddles everywhere. I guess it was a fitting way to say a sad goodbye, as tomorrow we say goodbye not only to London, but to our overland adventure (sniff, sniff).

Despite the rain, I was keen to get one last look at London and so set off to Dali Universe - a collection of paintings, drawings and sculptures by the famous Spaniard. It was a quite sizeable collection and pretty cool to see as most of it was new to me. The highlight by far was the collection of sculptures which were dotted around. I really can't describe Dali in words, but I am sure you've all seen his stuff and so understand; it was crazy, and cool.

Meeting Corb we set off towards Covent Garden for a squizz at the market. Dodging the raindrops we sheltered inside a cafe and had what they on the sign outside was London's best coffee. Well I'm not sure of the validity of the statement, but it was damn fine coffee. Unfortunately I can't remember the name of the place, and I've packed the receipt thingee. For those that care it's on Charing Cross Road towards Covent Garden and has the year 1882 (I think) in it's name. Yum.

Wandering the market was cool; it reminded me of the Queen Vic Market in Melbourne, though it had crazy magicians and musicians to add to the mix. Nearby we found an awesome store with the nicests sheets ever and I am much tempted to jump online when I get home and order them for myself - ahh snuggly bedtime in my own bed to look forward to!!

Spent the evening chatting in English/Spanish/Italian with M&J's flatmate Claudio (I), his girlfriend Martina (I) and friend Rosilla (S). They had cooked up a huge feast of pasta and so shared it with us. They were also kind enough to share their meringues and icecream - sweet!!

So now we are mostly ready for the flight tomorrow, though I am sure it won't really hit us til we see the plane. Not having our bags to worry about, nor needing to stress about snacks and toilet breaks is going to be something completely new after the last 8.5 months of travelling, but I've got to say I am looking forward to the movies!!

It's been an absolutely fantastic trip and we are both really sad that this part is coming to an end. Thankfully we have 6 unplanned weeks of exciting adventures left in Asia and then a wonderful kiwi summer to look forward to.

In the meantime, I've got to finish packing and tidy up M&J's room before they get home from Berlin!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb