Family in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 21st 2005
Published: October 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Holly and Sarah at Kettners, SohoHolly and Sarah at Kettners, SohoHolly and Sarah at Kettners, Soho

It's nice to be with family.
We were unable to meet with Sarah (a relative of Holly) during our last London visit in 2003, so we were determined to connect this time around. After a couple of phone calls we were able to arrange a meeting in London.

We agreed to meet with Sarah at Trafalgar Square during the evening, 7pm if I recall, or was it half seven? As we approached each other, I immediately recognized Sarah from a photograph we had received earlier from her parents, Elgar and Julia.

Sarah is an attractive and delightful woman. After a quick introduction and some small chat, we headed for Kettners in Soho for a light refreshment. Once at Kettners, we decided to order hors d'oeuvres, a bottle of wine and a small pizza to share amoungst us, as no one was hungry. Sarah did mention that she was a vegetarian, which I clearly heard and immediately escaped my memory.

You guessed it, I ordered sausage on the pizza, which Sarah was unaware of, as she and Holly were busy chatting each other up. After a couple glasses of wine, and much discussion about family, the pizza arrived.

I thought the pizza was very
"Ah tutti contenti""Ah tutti contenti""Ah tutti contenti"

We are all Contented.
tasty, as did Holly. Unaware the pizza had sausage, Sarah thought the pizza had a mildly pleasing flavour and a rather unfamiliar texture.

It suddenly came rushing into my memory. Sarah was a vegetarian! and she told me so. Now, the feeling which overcame me was quite uncomfortable. After some sincere apologies for having commited this most embarrassing faux pas, and some nervous chuckling, a most gracious Sarah assured me over and over again that it was quite all right. Nothing to be embarrassed about. She said "I actually liked it".

After many attempts by Sarah to console my battered ego - it had no effect, I still felt like the TOTAL IDIOT! This feeling lasted well into the night and into the next day.

I am now consoled by the fact that it sincerely was an honest mistake on my part and of short term memory loss due to advancing old age. We did have a wonderful time. Sorry we could not have more time together. Sarah I love you, we love you. We really did have fun and a great time, Holly and I will never forget. We love you.

You are kind, gracious and wonderful. Thanks again for everything. Best regards to Jeremy, the kids and all of the family. And finally, as sung in the final chorus of Mozart's The Marriage of Figaro - "Ah Tutti Contenti".





Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 96; dbt: 0.137s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb