London - The Last Adventure


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 8th 2015
Published: August 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

My last weekend trip during my time here in Scotland was to one of my go-to destinations while I was here: London, England. I have always wanted to go to London and couldn't pass up the chance while I was here in the UK. I took a Megabus all day Friday and arrived that night at my hostel in Victoria Square. I went out and did some night sightseeing of Westminster Abbey, the London Eye, and of course, Big Ben. Then the real touring started on Saturday. I met with a group of friends I had met on the Highlands tour on the previous weekend and we all got the London Pass, which allows us entry into most of the main attractions in the city. We started off at Kings Cross to visit the famous Platform 9 3/4. Then we headed to Buckingham Palace for a quick visit with the Queen, and toured the Queen's Gallery and Royal Mews. Afterwards, we went and checked out the Churchill War Rooms, which is a tour of the bunkers from which Winston Churchill spent much of WWII. After this brief walk through time, we headed to Westminster Abbey. This was one of my favorite sights, as it was absolutely beautiful inside. It's also where Issac Newton and Charles Darwin are buried. You aren't supposed to take pictures but I secretly snapped a few so don't tell. After the Abbey we headed to the Tower of London to see the Crown Jewels and get a fitting. Next, we went on a boat tour of the Thames River and saw the sights from a different view. Look kids, Big Ben! Then we checked out the London Bridge at dusk and after a late dinner we called it a night. The next day was another busy one, and we started it by heading to Kensington Palace for a tour and quick walk around the gardens. Then we headed to Camden Market for some lunch and to check out all the unique vendors. After the market, I went over to the British Museum for a look around. The place was massive, and contained a dizzying amount of history that would take weeks to see all of. I ended the day at Piccadilly Circus, and after dinner I hopped back on a Megabus (a method of travel I will never do again and would never recommend for long journeys) and headed back to finish up my last week at the University of Stirling.

This post concludes my blog, as I'll be back home August 9th. This has been an absolutely incredible journey and it's an experience I will cherish the rest of my life. It had it's highs and lows, but I wouldn't have traded it for the world. Thank you to everyone who read my blog these past couple months, I really hope you enjoyed it.

Signing off,

-Matt


Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb