Sharpies and the Shard


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 22nd 2015
Published: May 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I have walked five hundred miles and I could walk five hundred more.

But if I just jog a couple of miles, I wake up and my legs are sore!

And my head's not the best either.

Big night on the town with Phillo last night and he did not disappoint. Some of his colleagues suggested a restaraunt in Bermondsey (near London Bridge) and we made our way back to South London for a night out. The restaraunt was Village East - very cool with great food. Jules had squid, I had quail and Phillo ordered Salmon and all were devine. We also had arancini balls and lamb for starters. After a celebratory cocktail and a bottle of red, Phillo had a plan to go up the Shard.

17 years ago I would have been reluctant to wander the streets near London Bridge after dark but the urban renewal is startling. The fact that the Shard would be built there attests to the changing nature of the area.

The Shard (Shard of Glass) is an impresive builing and western Europe's highest building at 95 floors. It cost $60 just to go up to the top but Phillo knows I'm a bit of a tight-arse and wouldn't come at paying that. Despite me only having my runners (which received the ridicule it deserved) Phillo got us up to Oblix - a restaraunt/bar on the 32nd floor. The veiw was stunning and to see London at night is something special. It was an unforgettable night of laughs, good food and cocktails. Jules kept a souvenir of our night by slipping the cock's tails that were pegged to our cocktails into her bag. We caught an Uber car home to North London and I unfortunately fell asleep and missed the London traffic at 2am.

Phillo has spent 5 years in the Isle of Man and described coming back to London as a kind of mental rebirth. It's that kind of city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.335s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb